Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2009, 11:01 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

As others have stated, save up for a good 20" monitor.

Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 11:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
Hussein19891's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

22" widescreen

And get ready to be immersed in your games.


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 11:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Resident Nightowl
Fat.Clown's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

Originally Posted by caltraskoo View Post
Well, I would most likely have to upgrade the Power Supply also.
One final quick question, is a 9500 GT by EVGA with 1024 of DDR2 better than a 8800GT with 512 MB of DDR3?

I personally think DDR3 is better so I am trading away the 9500
there are more factors than just GDDR2 vs GDDR3 and amount of memory onboard

core speed
memory bit bus
memory clock speed
stream processors
and more

this guide does a good job of explaining
Graphics Beginners' Guide, Part 2: Graphics Technology explains
Graphics Beginners' Guide, Part 3: Graphics Performance shows comparison
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 01:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

...what's the point of getting anything over 75 FPS? Most monitors only go up to about 90 Hz, so anything over 90 FPS is just wasted anyways!

for instance, my brand new Dell 19" monitors are currently running at only 60Hz and there are 0 problems.

Technically, anything above 30Hz is wasted because the human eyes can't tell the difference anymore, so long as it's clean. (progressive and not interlaced)

SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-11-2010 11:32 PM
what benefit would i get if i go from DDR2 800 to DDR2 1066? Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-14-2008 06:18 PM
Is DDR2 memory going out of style anytime soon? White_Wolf System Upgrades 4 12-08-2008 08:42 PM
DDR2 - Memory Module Kit? zx666 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-27-2007 08:04 PM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 09:21 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.