Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2009, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Default Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

I am running a alright rig right now. I have a 9500 GT 1G of DDR2. I get 120-200 FPS on Cod4 1024x768 and I am pretty happy, however I just want to know if I can upgrade it to a 9800 GT with 512mb OF ddr3 and whether it would be better or the places it would be better. I also run a 350 Watt Powersupply, which I guess have to upgrade soon.
I am running XP SP2
__________________

caltraskoo is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 09:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

The 9800GT would be better, but it won't be much of an upgrade. If you're going to put money towards an upgrade, you should grab a 260 core 216.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 10:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

120 to 200 FPS???






And sorry Hikaricloud but the 9800 would totally wipe the floor with the 9500
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

yeah look at the res he's playing at.. it's crazy low so high fps are expected. If you're not going to upgrade the rest of your system then don't bother, it's a waste of money.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 05:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

Well, my FPS I don't like to max it at 125, because it then drops to 100 for some odd reason. Anyways I have a 4G of RAM (forgot the mHz), 250G 7200 RPMHDD, 9500 GT 1g, XP SP2, some crappy princeton 17in monitor, icemats, quadcore 2.66ghz by intel, razer deathadder, steel pad.
caltraskoo is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 05:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

and here I am happy with anything over 30 FPS....

my standards are too low?

anyways.... if you up it to the 9800gt, you can max cod 4 probably all the time
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 10:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

Get a decent 22" monitor along with the 9800 GTX+ or 4850 and you will be amazed.

Should cost you about $300~350, it will really change how you game.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 11:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

Well, I would most likely have to upgrade the Power Supply also.
One final quick question, is a 9500 GT by EVGA with 1024 of DDR2 better than a 8800GT with 512 MB of DDR3?

I personally think DDR3 is better so I am trading away the 9500
caltraskoo is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 11:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

8800 GS is a castrated 8800 GT. 8800 GS still outperforms 8600 GT's in SLI.

9500 GT outperforms the 8600 GT by about 17~25%.

You would need SLI 9500 GT's to even consider matching it up against the 8800 GT and even then, the SLI set up would most likely still be outperformed.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 12:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Is 512 MB DDR3> 1024MB DDR2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shumway View Post
120 to 200 FPS???






And sorry Hikaricloud but the 9800 would totally wipe the floor with the 9500
It would wipe the floor, but I didn't really think it would be worth it for the money spent, which is why I recommended the 260 c216...if he gets a better monitor at least. :P

EDIT: And a better PSU. Lol. Just my 2 cents.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
what benefit would i get if i go from DDR2 800 to DDR2 1066? Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-14-2008 07:18 PM
Is DDR2 memory going out of style anytime soon? White_Wolf System Upgrades 4 12-08-2008 09:42 PM
DDR2 - Memory Module Kit? zx666 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-27-2007 09:04 PM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.