5 year old gaming rig needs upgrades! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2013, 07:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Default 5 year old gaming rig needs upgrades!

Built this computer 5 years ago, and it just isnt cutting it anymore.

I want to be able to play my games without lagging to **** during big fights and running constant low frame rates on low quality gfx settings.

any suggestions?

I was thinking mainly i need to upgrade my cpu, ram, and graphics card. will this work for me?

NOTE: my build below has changed. the graphics card blew out about a year or so ago and i got a cheaper one at the time, an Nvidia geforce gt 430

EDIT: what upgrade would yield the best results? its gonna be a piece by piece thing, i cant drop a lot of money all at once.

would it be the ram?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: Asus M51 Series http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834220308

My Build: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe || AMD Athalon x2 6000+ (3.25Ghz OC) || AC Freezer 64 Pro || nVidia GeForce 8800GT 512MB || G.Skill 2x 2GB DDR2 800 || Western Digital 500GB 7200 HDD || Samsung 20x DVD Burner || Sunbeam Transformer ATX Full Case || Windows Vista 64 Bit || Rosewill 850W PSU

Logitech G15 Keyboard (new orange version) & Logitech G5 Mouse (black/blue version)

11k 3DMark06 Score
mark1413 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ornamexito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 87
Default

You said you want to play games without lagging - so the first thing i would change is the CPU. the GT 430 will do for now.
The problem is that you will also have to spend money on a new motherboard, and DDR3 RAM otherwise you wont be able to change the CPU.

Also if you want to upgrade the RAM first, dont buy DDR2 for this motherboard because when you will buy a new motherboard for a new CPU it will be DDR3.
My suggestion is start with the motherboard and CPU
__________________

Ornamexito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: 5 year old gaming rig needs upgrades!

Ouch.

First off I would go for either a new graphics card or a quad core CPU. If you go with a CPU you will be restricting yourself to remaining with you current mobo, or at least staying with the AM3 socket as you upgrade.

For GPU I would recommend this 560 Ti 440:
Newegg.com - MSI N560GTX-Ti 448 Twin Frozr III PE/OC GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 448 Cores (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

It is the cheapest one on NewEgg. I have a non-440 MSI and it handles BF3 super nice.

For a CPU this one will work in your current mobo according to Asus's page:
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor ADX640WFGMBOX
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ornamexito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 87
Default Re: 5 year old gaming rig needs upgrades!

Yeah you wont get a better CPU with an AM2 socket so at least go for AM3
Ornamexito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: 5 year old gaming rig needs upgrades!

Certain AM2 boards can actually handle newer AM2+ chips if the board makers produces bios support for it. As was said, the 640 propus would handle it.

OP as long as you want to play non-demanding CPU games I suggest getting the GTX 660 over that 560ti and if you can upgrade the motherboard/CPU/RAM. If you can't you could wait it out with the 6000+ easily. You would only see some lag dips on games like Skyrim or GTA4 which like to each CPU for breakfast.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Default Re: 5 year old gaming rig needs upgrades!

thanks for all the replies.

i was somewhat fearful that i would need to upgrade my mobo...

i really dont know what to do. should i get a lower end cpu and some ram, or should i start witha new mobo and cpu and then get some ram and later on address the gfx card.

would my current mobo make any use out of some new ddr3 1600mhz ram?
__________________
Laptop: Asus M51 Series http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834220308

My Build: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe || AMD Athalon x2 6000+ (3.25Ghz OC) || AC Freezer 64 Pro || nVidia GeForce 8800GT 512MB || G.Skill 2x 2GB DDR2 800 || Western Digital 500GB 7200 HDD || Samsung 20x DVD Burner || Sunbeam Transformer ATX Full Case || Windows Vista 64 Bit || Rosewill 850W PSU

Logitech G15 Keyboard (new orange version) & Logitech G5 Mouse (black/blue version)

11k 3DMark06 Score
mark1413 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ornamexito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 87
Default Re: 5 year old gaming rig needs upgrades!

If your current mobo has ddr2 ram then it won't support ddr3. The best thing to do is to get a decent mobo and a cpu and some ddr3 ram. it mayy cost you more but it will last for longer and you will be able to play games in good quality for longer.
Ornamexito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: 5 year old gaming rig needs upgrades!

No it wouldn't as that board and CPU are both limited to DDR2.

Your biggest problem is the GPU. The GT430 is quite weak. I would address that first, then when you can upgrade the rest. I can pop my GTX 580 in my 6000+ rig to show you what kind of figured you would be looking at with a stock 6000+ and 4GB DDR2 800.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Default Re: 5 year old gaming rig needs upgrades!

heres what im thinking:

cpu: Newegg.com - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K

mobo: Newegg.com - ASUS P8B75-V LGA 1155 Intel B75 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard this should be fine right? i have no plans of using two gpus so the one pci slot oughta be fine. I know nothing about mobos, so please advise if this is not a good one.

ram, ill just but some new ddr3 ram to go with it. prob 8 or 16gb @ 1600+
__________________
Laptop: Asus M51 Series http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834220308

My Build: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe || AMD Athalon x2 6000+ (3.25Ghz OC) || AC Freezer 64 Pro || nVidia GeForce 8800GT 512MB || G.Skill 2x 2GB DDR2 800 || Western Digital 500GB 7200 HDD || Samsung 20x DVD Burner || Sunbeam Transformer ATX Full Case || Windows Vista 64 Bit || Rosewill 850W PSU

Logitech G15 Keyboard (new orange version) & Logitech G5 Mouse (black/blue version)

11k 3DMark06 Score
mark1413 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Default Re: 5 year old gaming rig needs upgrades!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
No it wouldn't as that board and CPU are both limited to DDR2.

Your biggest problem is the GPU. The GT430 is quite weak. I would address that first, then when you can upgrade the rest. I can pop my GTX 580 in my 6000+ rig to show you what kind of figured you would be looking at with a stock 6000+ and 4GB DDR2 800.
ok, good input. appreciate the help
__________________

__________________
Laptop: Asus M51 Series http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834220308

My Build: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe || AMD Athalon x2 6000+ (3.25Ghz OC) || AC Freezer 64 Pro || nVidia GeForce 8800GT 512MB || G.Skill 2x 2GB DDR2 800 || Western Digital 500GB 7200 HDD || Samsung 20x DVD Burner || Sunbeam Transformer ATX Full Case || Windows Vista 64 Bit || Rosewill 850W PSU

Logitech G15 Keyboard (new orange version) & Logitech G5 Mouse (black/blue version)

11k 3DMark06 Score
mark1413 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.