Is a 450w psu enough for my system? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2014, 03:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: kanala
Posts: 2
Default Is a 450w psu enough for my system?

i have a 300w power supply that makes my new graphics card constantly crash simply because it is not enough. i am thinking of buying a corsair 80 plus white atx powersupply but i dont know if that is enough. any help welcome thanks.

Motherboard:
MS-7613 (Iona-GL8E)

Processor:
Intel Core i3 550

Memory:
8gb ddr3

video card:
asus geforce gtx 750 ti 2gb

hard drive:
1TB sata 7200rpm

cd/dvd drive:
SATA super-multi dvd burner with lightcribe
Data buffer memory: 2 MB minimum
Disc diameter: 120 mm

I use 1 21" widescreen monitor with hdmi windows 7 home premium 64bit
__________________

LazyDoggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014, 03:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Is a 450w psu enough for my system?

Even if it's a cheap OEM PSU it should still run fine because the 750ti is one of the most efficient cards on the market.

Yes, a Corsair 430?w PSU would be fine.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014, 08:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: kanala
Posts: 2
Default Re: Is a 450w psu enough for my system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Even if it's a cheap OEM PSU it should still run fine because the 750ti is one of the most efficient cards on the market.

Yes, a Corsair 430?w PSU would be fine.
Thanks! im buying it then.
LazyDoggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
components, power supply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would 450w be enough to run a Radeon HD 7850 1GB brandon17 System Upgrades 12 01-03-2013 12:47 AM
FS : SLI GPU water blocks\20gb HD's/450W psu and more! schulz269 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 05-12-2007 02:57 PM
450W Enough? Salacon New Systems | Building and Buying 15 06-29-2006 03:04 AM
is 450w enough? MrZucchiniHead New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-16-2006 12:08 PM
For Sale: 450W Powmax/DTK PSU for Parts ebayfreak Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 04-03-2005 08:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.