4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2007, 08:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

Well, the light doesn't stay on all the time....AND I don't get the error anymore.

I think I'm am just going to send back one of the hard drives and the floppy drive, and forget RAID....its not worth the trouble.

P.S. I did not have any problems setting up RAID on my ABIT mobo.
__________________

__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

doesnt raid make the failure rate twice as high?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

I'm doing RAID 1. Its a business computer, not gaming.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
doesnt raid make the failure rate twice as high?
Kind of, for RAID 0...and it's the risk that some people take, to get a performance boost, out of their hard drives. Some people do a RAID 0+1 or 5, for performance boost, and security.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 09:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

Please do not take your frustration on your EVGA motherboard, EVGA is dedicated to improve products for the enthusiast. Therefore, EVGA assumes its products are in the hands of experienced users. If you did not know a 4-pin connector is able to power a motherboard that has an 8-pin connector, then simply explain your situation, instead of placing blame on the manufacturer. Thanks and have a nice day.

(I do not work for EVGA, so do not ask)
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 12:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

hey man good point. i think evga is meant for the scavanger or someone with alot of knowledge of pc's. i mean ill pull a pc from the trash, strip it, throw it in my bag, and go home, no pictures, nothing, no manual, etc...and either make it work. i have tried everything from a slot1 and slota to a lga775 (fried pent D...dell, must i go further?)

but yea, the parts with little manuals are meant for the enthusiasts. my mobo also had a crappy manual, but the little info that they packed within those 16 small pages is enough to write a book with, if you know how to read it. and most of those manuals dont have a bios section in it too, just mobo, because bios always change, hence term software, motherboard doesnt, hence the term hardware.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo for athlon xp 2100+? D_scrub New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-23-2007 12:14 PM
What Power and Mobo? weee107 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-21-2007 11:22 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
mobo CPU fan changing tone smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-20-2007 07:06 AM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.