4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2007, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

I got this eVGA mobo and it has an 8 pin 12V connector that I assume is for the CPU. It says PWR 2 next to it.

The PSU has a 4 pin connector. Do you only plug it into 4 and leave 4 open? And if so, which 4?
__________________

__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

anyone?
__________________

__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 02:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

Read the manual.. If you can do it like you suggesting then the manual will inform you. But, My guess is you can't and you need an 8 pin connector. Find an online FAQ for that board and find out if you can use some type of converter. If not, and in the worst case you will have to buy another power supply with a native 8 Pin Connector.
Ste is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 06:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

Well, its an eVGA and I like their vid cards, but their manual blows. The manual is a single sheet of paper for their mobo.

On the page, here is step 5 (of 7 steps) containing the power cable information:

"Next you will connect power cables to the motherboard and other peripherals that are connected to the motherboard. *Remember to plug in your 6 pin PCI-E power cables to your graphics card if necessary."

THAT IS IT.

I just plugged the 4 pin into the 8 pin and it powers up, but will a problem occur from that? I will order a 4 pin/8 pin converter on newegg anyways. Its only $3.50.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 06:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

it should be fine, it is for EPS12v which provides extra stability, but isn't necessary.

it only really needs it on really high draw CPUs, such as quads etc. you should be fine with your CPU.
joshd is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 06:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

ok lemme begin by saying that this thread is totally noobed-out by people who cant use google
Heres the manual. (67 pages, not 1)
Under 6.1.2 of the EPS 12V design guide, it mentions that there are two rails for the 8 pin processor slot.
This means if you want to guarantee that the processor wont die from lose of power, you plug the 8 pin or 2-4pins in the slot.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

So? eVGA still gets an F in the manual department. Print a **** manual and put it in the box. Also, no floppy for RAID. Thats what I am working on now. Yes Peter, I got the RAID drivers from the website. Here is the new problem:

Floppy drive won't work. I am about to go jack one out of another computer(just to make sure newegg didn't ship bad floppy), but this one is brand new, the light comes on so I think it works. I get this error message when I boot up, "Floppy disk(s) fail (40)".

I don't have the cables backwards, they are fine. Any ideas?

eVGA is being noob, not me.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

eVGA doesnt get an F...they are saving paper by powering big machines/servers that get power from nuclear energy and hogging the internet's bandwidth, thats all...
bios settings?
and please not let this be true...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

"I don't have the cables backwards, they are fine. Any ideas?"

I guess you didn't read that. No, that is not the problem.

Floppy doesn't work I guess. I got one out of an old Compaq and I don't get the error message anymore. HOWEVER, when installing windows it acts like I don't have the driver disk in the floppy. It just keeps asking me to insert the manufacturer-supplied hardware support disk.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 4 pin 12V on PSU, 8 pin on MOBO

some people think they have it in correctly and are sometimes wrong, double checking wont kill a cat...
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo for athlon xp 2100+? D_scrub New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-23-2007 12:14 PM
What Power and Mobo? weee107 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-21-2007 11:22 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
mobo CPU fan changing tone smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-20-2007 07:06 AM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.