3rd try at a comp build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Angry 3rd try at a comp build

Ok, so this is my 3rd try at a computer build heh. Now, I don't need it to be super good, just good enough to run Battlefield 2 without being choppy. Here are the parts:

Case/PSU: http://www.factorydirect.ca/catalog/...p?pcode=AT1150
Video Card: http://www.factorydirect.ca/catalog/...p?pcode=AT9557
CPU: http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...81&cid=CPU.791
Ram: http://www.factorydirect.ca/catalog/...p?pcode=ME1001
Mobo: http://www.factorydirect.ca/catalog/...p?pcode=AS0478
HD: http://www.factorydirect.ca/catalog/...p?pcode=HA0080
Optical drive: http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...023&cid=CR.184

So then, what I need to know is, will all these parts work with each other? And is it worth it to buy this? Or should I get different parts. Thank you.
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Your motherboard has like zero information. All it says is socket 478. I need to know what kind of ram slots it uses, what graphics slot it uses, ect.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 02:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default

from www.asrock.com

Quote:
Socket 478 for Intel P4 processor
VIA P4M800 chipset

1. Supports FSB800MHz processor, Prescott
Ready and H-T Technology
2. 2 DDR DIMM slots, Supports DDR400/333/266
3. Hybrid Booster - ASRock safe overclocking Technology
4. SerialATA 1.5Gb/s, SATA HDD_Hotplug, RAID 0,1,JBOD
5. AGP8X, 5.1channel Audio, 10/100 Ethernet LAN
6. ASRock I/O Plus: 6 ready-to-use USB2.0 ports
Hope that helps .
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Then yes, you're good to go.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 03:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Looks like it would work, but that stuff is kind of out dated.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default

yeah, you should go with an AMD Processor...
__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
  • MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
  • TwinMos 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
  • HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X800 XL ICEQII 256MB
  • Dell 19\" UltraSharp TFT
  • Razer Diaomondback
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • Asus TA-210 Case
http://www.ko-clan.net/Fury_Sig.jpg
fury36 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 07:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

At least go with the Intel LGA775 socket, socket 478 is outdated.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 08:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

it just needs to be good enough to run BF2 without being choppy.

Boys, I know it's easy to spend other people's money, but sometimes they have a budget and really DO feel like sticking to it.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

For like $10 more you could get an Athlon 64 3200 Venice which is faster than a socet 478 2.4Ghz P4, and for what you're paying for that Radeon 9550 you could have my 9800 pro which has the R360 core.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you have to also consider the price of the motherboard. You see, when you upgrade something, often times there's more costs than just the difference in the price between two competing components.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.