3dmark help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2006, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default 3dmark help

i just downloaded 3dmark to check out my system .. i scored a
7122. is that a good score? when it was testing.. the framerates seemed low. they never went above 40 and got as low as 16. i dont think my system should be getting FR that low. what do you think? is something wrong??
__________________

__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 11:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

You used 3dMark05 right? Or did you use an older version like 03 or 01se?
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 11:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

i used 3dmark05. i went on their forum and compared to everyone elses with similar specs to me.. my score was actually better. i just dont understand why the framerates were that low. are they even low? they seemed low to me. when i play games i dont notice a bad FR but 3dmark gave me an average of around 30fps
__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 12:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Those programs are designed to stress and test the limits of your system. No computer will really get good framerates on it. I have a similar setup to yours and i get like 2-3 fps on the second round of the test with the giant serpent thingy, yet i get a score of around 8200.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 02:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

I too got about 2 fps on the last set of tests and i was wondering if something was wrong but i saw others with the same probs. I got about 7300 in '05 non-OCed. If you want to get some more marks, try to OC alittle. But what only really matters is that the computer runs like you want it too.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

yea i compared with other people that have very similar setups to me and they all got in the low 7000's. now that im thinking about it... i know what kinda frame rate i should be gettin with my setup. if i get a good FR when i actually play games.. then thats what matters. seeing 4 fps with that program scared the crap outta me... i was so mad lol. im not gonna use that program anymore.. just so im sure.. that score was ok for my setup right? i just wanna make sure im gettin the most outta my pc without OCing it.
__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 03:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Yep, that score seemed just fine for a pc like yours.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

ok thanks
__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Ive been playing FEAR on my computer with everything turned on max, AA, AF, soft shadows and i get about 48fps average. Ive turned down the settings alittle and got higher fps but it wasnt noticable to me. Im happy with it and if your runs like you want it too, then your good, dont worry about the score.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thebleakness
Ive been playing FEAR on my computer with everything turned on max, AA, AF, soft shadows and i get about 48fps average. Ive turned down the settings alittle and got higher fps but it wasnt noticable to me. Im happy with it and if your runs like you want it too, then your good, dont worry about the score.
yea thats what i think also.. if it runs good. thats all that matters. thanks alot
__________________

__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.