3D Monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2011, 11:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 169
Default 3D Monitor

If you want to set up a 3D game like black ops on PC, do you have to have a 3D enabled monitor?
__________________

Extreme112 is offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 04:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: 3D Monitor

Yes, you would need a 3d monitor for 3D to actually function.

Essentialy, it's a monitor with a 120 HZ refresh rate.

Here's a kit with the glasses:

Newegg.com - ASUS VG236HE Black 23" 1920X1080 2ms Height,Swivel & Tilt Adjustable Full HD 3D Widescreen LCD Monitor 400 cd/m2 100,000:1
__________________

__________________
Gaming PC Build:

NZXT Phantom | Intel i5-3570k 3.4Ghz | Asus P8Z77-V | CoolerMaster V6 GT | Ripjaws
8GB 1600mhz | EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB | Corsair HX750 Watt |SB 1.5TBHDD
7200 RPM+WD 500GB 7200RPM | OCZ Vetex 3 120GB SSD | Lite-On 24x Reader/Writer/Burner Drive |
Razer Naga MMO Gaming Mouse | Razer Lycosa Gaming Mouse | Logitech G930 Gaming Headset
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 05:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 169
Default Re: 3D Monitor

Whoa! Thats expensive! Though I don't really need one as I don't have any 3D games yet, I might get one. Thanks for your info.
Extreme112 is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: 3D Monitor

No problem
__________________
Gaming PC Build:

NZXT Phantom | Intel i5-3570k 3.4Ghz | Asus P8Z77-V | CoolerMaster V6 GT | Ripjaws
8GB 1600mhz | EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB | Corsair HX750 Watt |SB 1.5TBHDD
7200 RPM+WD 500GB 7200RPM | OCZ Vetex 3 120GB SSD | Lite-On 24x Reader/Writer/Burner Drive |
Razer Naga MMO Gaming Mouse | Razer Lycosa Gaming Mouse | Logitech G930 Gaming Headset
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 08:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: 3D Monitor

You could also look into getting a 3D capable projector, quite a good investment IMO. I love my back shed movie/game room
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BlackBox Security Monitor, Monitor Computer Systems In A Network Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-07-2010 10:30 PM
Upgrading monitor, system performance go down? (also monitor suggestion :P Deadpixel New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-02-2009 07:56 AM
Samsung launches 30-inch LED-backlit monitor and USB monitor Trotter New Systems | Building and Buying 13 03-20-2007 05:50 PM
WTB: 19"+ LCD monitor (maybe widescreen?) & dual monitor video card whiteblazer01 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 10 03-28-2006 01:21 AM
Utility in windows xp to resize monitor viewable area (Laptop Monitor smashed) gihandes Microsoft Windows and Software 0 01-29-2006 12:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.