3850 ati is this a good card for.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2008, 09:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 108
Default 3850 ati is this a good card for....

Hi is this card good for light gaming? Canada Computers - Video Cards > PCI-Express Cards > Powered By ATI : Sapphire ATI RADEON HD 3650 512MB DDR3 Dual DVI PCI-Express 2.0 Graphics Card.
I would like to play Crisis and Call of Duty 4, can I run these game ok with this vc ?
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800 x2 Windsor 2.0 GHZ
1gb RAM 667 MHz
Asus M2N-E Mobo 9600gt
W.D 320 gb hd
Pioneer 111
LG dvd-rom
21.6 samsung
Windows xp pro sp2
elperra is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 09:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: 3850 ati is this a good card for....

not on max settings. but not on the lowest either.
__________________

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 09:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 3850 ati is this a good card for....

i've maxed out cod4 on the 256mb version of that card on a 19" widescreen. and it ran perfectly with no noticable frame lag.

crysis, not so sure for max res and dx10, but it should run nicely.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 09:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: 3850 ati is this a good card for....

sorry. I meant crysis mainly. I've never played COD4 though.
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 10:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 3850 ati is this a good card for....

gotcha, you should. cod4 is a dirty game. and yeh seeing as how not many cards can max it out, the 3850 is no exception.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 10:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: 3850 ati is this a good card for....

The link you posted is for a 3650 not 3850.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 10:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 108
Red face Re: 3850 ati is this a good card for....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
The link you posted is for a 3650 not 3850.
Oops, sorry I mean 3650 not 3850, sorry guys.
__________________
AMD 3800 x2 Windsor 2.0 GHZ
1gb RAM 667 MHz
Asus M2N-E Mobo 9600gt
W.D 320 gb hd
Pioneer 111
LG dvd-rom
21.6 samsung
Windows xp pro sp2
elperra is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 10:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 3850 ati is this a good card for....

oh lol then that changes everything. THe 3650 is pretty much a worthless card for gaming....

Try to stretch the budget and grab this:

NCIX.com - Buy Palit GeForce 9600GT 650MHZ 512MB 1.8GHZ DDR3 PCI-E DVI-I HDMI HDCP HDTV Out Video Card - XNE/9600T+0152 In Canada..
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 10:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 3850 ati is this a good card for....

well with a 3650 then what snake says applies, and what i said doesn't.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 06:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 108
Default Re: 3850 ati is this a good card for....

Thanks guys for your replies. Yeah I think I better spend a little more and will try to get the 9600gt.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800 x2 Windsor 2.0 GHZ
1gb RAM 667 MHz
Asus M2N-E Mobo 9600gt
W.D 320 gb hd
Pioneer 111
LG dvd-rom
21.6 samsung
Windows xp pro sp2
elperra is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Everybody's Help with Video Card Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 23 04-07-2008 06:17 PM
video card noob needs help on dual monitor setup sac02 System Upgrades 2 12-27-2007 02:25 AM
Still having problems with AGP card arian487 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 23 12-03-2007 06:28 PM
Did my sound card die on me?? :( Nuggets Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-13-2007 12:17 PM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.