32x16 or 64x8 notebook memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2007, 10:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to mica3speedy
Question 32x16 or 64x8 notebook memory

I'm looking at upgrading my notebook's memory from 512mb to 1gb. While shopping around I found some good prices on the ddr333 sodimm. However, some are 32x16, and some are 64x8. I have a gateway 7330gz. Which will be more compatible/better?
__________________

mica3speedy is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Both should be fine, go for the cheaper one. You're getting ripped off though...Gateway; memory; don't go together.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to mica3speedy
Default

interesting. the 32x16 is $40.17, the 64x8 is $41.20. Can you explain why I'm getting ripped off though? I know Gateways aren't the greatest, however I got it in August of 2005 for $900, so not too bad for the price.
mica3speedy is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

This is much higher performance RAM, for the same price:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227098

Gateway memory is going to be bad quality. They don't make the best quality parts for their computers. I have owned a Gateway, and had problems with it since I first purchased it.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to mica3speedy
Default

thanks for the link . Now with the current memory being ddr 333, will that work, or will I even see the benefit of the ddr2?
mica3speedy is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

I don't think they are even compatible.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820211126
I think that works.

I don't know anything about laptops and stuff, though.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to mica3speedy
Default

I just found that the ddr2 won't work in my gateway, so sticking with the ddr. Still haven't found anything on the bit&size, so I'll get the cheaper of two, or may go with your link if they have the cheaper shipping
__________________

mica3speedy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.