32-bit PCI slot? and 64bits DDR graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2005, 05:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default 32-bit PCI slot? and 64bits DDR graphics card

Hello all,

I will be getting a graphics card soon, but want to make sure i get the correct one.

I have three 32-bit PCI slot in my PC, and wanted to buy a ge-force 128MB PCI 64bits DDR Memory Interface. All looks fine other than its a 64 bit card?(i think) or because it says DDR after, does this mean it will fit in my 32 bit slots?

Can anyone help on this please.

Thanks all again

Darren
__________________

breenen is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 05:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it means the link between GPU (Graphical Processing Unit) and the video card's memory is 64 bits wide. the PCI slot being 32-bit won't stop it from working.

although PCI is not exactly great to use for a graphics card, you should try and use AGP or PCI-E if you can. but it also depends if your motherboard supports it.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 05:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you, my computer doesnt have an AGP or PCI-E slot, so will have to live with a basic PCI slot.

But, are you saying that i should be able to put my 64 bit card into my 32bit slot? if so, do you have any info on how this works? or does it mean that the graphics card will only use 32 bits.
breenen is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the 64-bit is not referring to the interface between the card and motherboard (which is the PCI interface), it's referring to the interface between GPU and VRAM, which is inside the card and will not be affected by being in a 32-bit PCI slot.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you greatly for your support. One last questions... why is it called a 32bit PCI slot, if you can but 64bit cards into it? Could they not just call it a PCI slot? and leave the 32bit out? or does the 32bit in the slot have any meaning.

Thank you for helping again
breenen is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I made a picture of a video card to show you what I'm talking about:

the PCI slot is 32-bits wide, which means it transfers 32 bits of data at a time to and from the card.

the memory bus is a completely different thing. it transfers data to and from the GPU and memory (VRAM) and on your card is 64-bits wide.

the PCI bus being 32 bit doesn't affect the memory bus being 64-bit.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 07:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you for all your help... all is now clear

: )
__________________

breenen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.