32 or 64 vista?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2007, 12:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default 32 or 64 vista??

okay.i dunno which bit should i be installing.so far, i have been reading up on the pros and cons.the pros are that u can install more ram and con is have to worry abt drivers.i've got 2 os on my pc now.xp pro 32 and vista home premium 32..i was thinking of switching to 64 vista coz my processor supports 64 bit.i know there are only few apps that make use of 64-bit.will there be a difference like better multi-tasking because there is a combination of a 64-bit processor and a 64 bit os?
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 12:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 32 or 64 vista??

well 64bit xp is a no-no, 64bit vista is great, i would personally buy a 32 bit version of either but if you're serius about ram then go for 64bit (over 3GB), 64 bit processors are capable of running 64bit software but at the moment theres no need to get a 64bit OS
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 01:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 32 or 64 vista??

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
well 64bit xp is a no-no
I disagree, and I have used XP x64

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
64bit vista is great, i would personally buy a 32 bit version of either but if you're serius about ram then go for 64bit (over 3GB), 64 bit processors are capable of running 64bit software but at the moment theres no need to get a 64bit OS
I would go for 64-bit Vista, with or without more than 3GB of RAM. 64-bit Operating Systems do more than just allow you to use more RAM. There is 64-bit program code, which runs faster than 32-bit code.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 01:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 32 or 64 vista??

oh, ive never used it but lots of people on here talk about driver issuses with it
Nick is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 01:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 32 or 64 vista??

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
oh, ive never used it but lots of people on here talk about driver issuses with it
there used to be a lot of driver issues with it. Not so much now.

There are plenty of drivers for most hardware now, including, importantly, video card and chipset drivers.

You might get a few problems with program incompatibilities (which is actually a lot rarer than you might think) - although a lot if it can be fixed with compatibility mode.
But the biggest reason for any incompatibilities is because x64 edition is not really mainstream.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 02:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default Re: 32 or 64 vista??

oukay, does anyone know which apps are using 64-bit program code? PS?
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 32 or 64 vista??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
there used to be a lot of driver issues with it. Not so much now.

There are plenty of drivers for most hardware now, including, importantly, video card and chipset drivers.

You might get a few problems with program incompatibilities (which is actually a lot rarer than you might think) - although a lot if it can be fixed with compatibility mode.
But the biggest reason for any incompatibilities is because x64 edition is not really mainstream.
oh yeah like run this in compatibility with XP 32bit or something?
Nick is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 32 or 64 vista??

Quote:
Originally Posted by galant_mod View Post
oukay, does anyone know which apps are using 64-bit program code? PS?
Usually, the program will specifically say that it's a 64-bit program if it is. Oh yeah, and 64-bit programs simply don't run on a 32-bit OS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
oh yeah like run this in compatibility with XP 32bit or something?
yep.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.