300$ for CPU, Motherbord and Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2006, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default 300$ for CPU, Motherbord and Memory

Hi all.
I today, I went to my friend to check out his comp.

He have a 6 years old computer.. some old piece of ****...

He have:

~AMD 550 MHz CPU (Argon, K7. June 23, 1999 )

96MB of Ram (but he say he had before 512MB... lol..... He probobly just messed up CPU and Ram numbers.....)

Video Card:
AGP Video Number Nine SR9

Sound Card
some "Solo -1(E)" Sound Card

so I need some CPU (probobly AMD), Mobo (that support AGP video), and 512 memory.

thks.
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

If you want to upgrade now, I would get a socket 939 system.
This for the motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491
And for the Ram:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145450
CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537
*edit* if you really want agp, which I don't suggest, you can get this mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081
It supports PCI e and AGP so you can upgrade later
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

AMD 3200+
2x512mb
ASRock Sk 939
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

It isn't really for me.. Its for my friend.. But I guess , maybe he will get new video as well.
Kdar is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 08:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

If he going to get some PCI-e video card.

Which is good but cheap?
Kdar is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to CodeDelta16
Default

The Nvidia PCI-E cards are good in my opinion. I don't have an exact model but look at Nvidia, then use common sense like, 128 good, 256 better. Shader model 3.0 is unsupported in an PCI-E Nvidia i THINK< could be wrong, not to mention they're coming out with everything now.

-cD
CodeDelta16 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

if he aint gonna do much gaming , then this is a good combo

MSI K8NGM2-FID MOBO / 80.99+4.85 shipping
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130529
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ / 111+free shipping
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537
Crucial Ballistix 1GB (2 x 512MB) 2-2-2-6 / 89+4.81 shipping
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148007

total+shipping 290.65$

it have integrated graphics which is perfect for general use and it have DVI too , no AGP but it have PCI-E (the newer standard) incase he'll wanna upgrade , anyway the integrated graphics are world better then his old agp card , he'll defintly need a new psu too

edit fixed ram link
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 10:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

New PSU if he get Video card?

or new PSU any way? if even without new video?
Kdar is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 10:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

eitherway , a quality psu costs at least 50$ i recommend this one
http://www.thenerds.net/index.php?pa...age&pn=TPII430
never go cheap on a psu , you can always get a cheapo but the problem with those that they arent cheap at all in the long range when they fail they can take down other parts aswell could be the hd maybe mobo even all parts except the processor it happens all the time , will never happen with a quality psu
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 05:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

He also going to get new video card.
and he want to have two monitors working at same time...

which one should I tell him to get?
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.