30" Monitor?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2008, 03:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 44
Default 30" Monitor?!

I have noticed that Dell has announced a 30" monitor, and some people just thinking about use it for gaming:
30" monitor - Toon Zone Forum
Well personally I do think that too expensive for me, with that budget I can get a tv.
__________________

__________________
pctech2 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 04:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default Re: 30" Monitor?!

lol the 30 inch monitor is very old news...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 09:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 30" Monitor?!

The difference is that a 30 inch "monitor" gives you a MUCH higher resolution than a tv. A tv is only going to give you AT BEST 1920x1080 while the 30" monitor gives 2500x1600 (cant remember exact) resolution.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 10:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,283
Default Re: 30" Monitor?!

id still prefer a 40 inch samsung 1080p monitor like many are getting, i own one myself, and have only pc games ion it once but it was very very nice.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 10:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 30" Monitor?!

I like my dual 24" monitors just fine
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 11:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,283
Default Re: 30" Monitor?!

well same goes for my duel 19 inch monitors, i dotn mind the res, and a litle aa never hurts.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 11:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hawk12online
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 30" Monitor?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
I like my dual 24" monitors just fine
^ as do I
__________________
 
Old 04-09-2008, 11:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33
Default Re: 30" Monitor?!

i personally dont like huge monitors bigger than 19"
__________________
sneakypants is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default Re: 30" Monitor?!

As a gamer, gigantic monitors serve me little purpose...but to each his own I suppose...you'd have to be doing some serious media managing to want a monitor that big though...
Chase is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 09:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 30" Monitor?!

Once you have played on a 24" monitor...you cant go back. I love it.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LCD Monitor Brands TRDCorolla1 System Upgrades 29 04-09-2008 05:12 PM
No boot power turns on but no signal in monitor ekw808 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-05-2008 11:01 AM
My monitor with the xbox 360 dwaynesox Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 10-16-2007 10:32 PM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 07:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 08:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.