2x512mb RAM vs 1x1gb RAM - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2006, 08:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well if your not overclocking you don't need expensive ram. So it doesn't really matter what brand you get.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 08:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to kiIIxthexIights
Default

well it would be dule channel wich is a plus but go with the 1x 1gb stick. your comp has to swittch betweene sticks fewer times and also saves the ram slot. if you can save up the cas hand get a dule channel 1x1gb lol
__________________

kiIIxthexIights is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 11:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160
Default

ok... have bought the 2x512 corsair ram... i got alot of condradictory reviews, but i dont really intend on going above 2gb RAM in this comp, so i figured id use the dual channel thing... CHEERS FOR ALL THE HELP GUYS!just as a final thought, would it be worth putting the existing ram stick (512) into bay 3, or would this slow down the ram as it is a different make of ram?
weewun is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 11:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

No. Don't. If you put the 3rd stick of ram in it doesn't allow it to run in dual channel. Kepp it the way it is. You might be able to get like $25 for that stick of ram.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 05:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160
Default

ok, cheers!
weewun is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 04:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Thumbs up

I know this might be a little late but, I just bought 2 sticks of 256MB (1GB) of Corsair XMS here. My friend did as well.
I'm going to be putting 'em with an Athlon 3200+ and a MSI K8N Neo4-f.
pcrobot is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I'm not a mathematician but the last time I check 256+256=512. Unless you mean 2 sets of 2 sticks which would give you 4 sticks in total of 1GB. If you did that might be a problem, the ram will downclock it self to DDR333MHz (PC2700) according to the manual which in effect would bottleneck your system. Unless the ram is single sided which I doubt that really sucks.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

I agree with the above posters.

Note: Motherboard determines ability to run memory in dual channel mode, not the memory chip themselves
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:36 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

In AMD's case, the memory controller in the CPU is what allows it to run dual channel...

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.