2x512mb RAM vs 1x1gb RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2006, 07:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160
Default 2x512mb RAM vs 1x1gb RAM

i am upgrading my system from a 512mb ram to a gb ram. i am getting rid of my old ram stick (causes crashes, was slow, crappy, etc) and i found that the price difference in getting a 1gb stick is very similar to getting 2x512 sticks...


2x512mb :http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=64176

so, what would be better? im not nececerally going to get that ram, BUT i would like to know the advantages/disadvantages (if it makes a difference) of having 1x1gb stick over 2x512mb sticks. cheers!

weewun is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 08:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 91

Go for 2x512mb if your motherboard supports dual channel, it'll prolly say on the box or something, go for a gig stick if you're planning on getting like 4gb, which you won't, so 2x512mb ftw. Oh and, do yourself a favor and go Corsair baby

| Intel Core 2 Q6600 / Zalman CNPS7000Bcu CPU LED cooler | XFX GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog 512MB PCI-E | 2x1024mb Corsair XMS2 6400 | Gigabyte N650SLI DS4 | OCZ GameXstream 850W | Hitachi Deskstar 80gb IDE | WD Caviar 160gb IDE | WD Caviar 250gb SATA | Coolermaster Aerogate 2 |
IGeMex is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 10:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771

Corsair XMS...good RAM...mine benchmarks faster than OCZ Platinums...which are twice the price.
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160

well... as it's the same price, would i not be better getting a 1gb stick, just incase i want to upgrade later? or would 2x512 be more stable or faster or something?
weewun is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

it would probably be better to get one stick of RAM, so the PC isnt running off two RAM chips, it only has to rely on 1
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160

ok... iv looked at corsair ram, and found a 1gb stick, and a 2pk of 512's...

so, if it's better gettin just 1 1gb stick, how come the 512 is more expensive and why would any1 buy it?
weewun is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
ulater6000's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000

If your motherboard supports dual channel, go for the dual 512mb to utilize the dual channel ability. It will be much faster than using a single 1024mb stick in single channel.
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 01:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

I'd buy the 2 sticks of 512 without hesitation. Unless you have a socket 754 I don't see any reason why you would buy the single stick. Most sockets support dual channel memory operation.


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 04:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

Well with DDR2 motherboards I think they all support dual-channel. So go with the 2X512. BTW what motherboard do you have?

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 06:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160

yeh, it does have dual chanel. i have an intel mobo... can't remember the exact model though and cant find the box ... so, the 2x512's it is! cheers for the help guys! btw, would this ram be better than the corsair? my friends neighbor recommended it for my friend who has a dell...geil ram

weewun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.