2GB Corsair vs G.Skill and Ballistix?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jfenwick

Fully Optimized
So I know the standard recommendation is to go with Crucial Ballistix or G.Skill over Corsair, is there a significant reason or just usually better priced? I'm wondering because I'm looking at 2GB of Corsair right now for under $50.00 at Tigerdirect.ca for another build.

Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz E.P.P. Memory (2 x 1024) TWIN2X2048-6400C4 in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

Can't see the downside but i'm no RAM expert....opinions? Worth snatching up? The build won't be until the summer but I'm shopping now hoping to pick up the deals as they come along.

ballistix are made from highly regarded ram chips. They're parent company Micron is used in higher end ram like,
ie:
Corsair Dominator
Geil
G.Skill HZ's
Team Group
Transcend axeram
They're cheap because of factory direct pricing and they use the best chips regardless of model, unlike most ram mfr.

i found any ram with decent 4-4-4 timings will perform great. ocz constantly have good deals while mushkins are pretty well performing as well.

yea you always want to get cas4 ddr2 ram. I'm thinking about selling my ram. I want these transcend axeram. Oc's to 1400mhz or Geil bd evo's. They get power str8 from the psu instead of MB.

So I know the standard recommendation is to go with Crucial Ballistix or G.Skill over Corsair, is there a significant reason or just usually better priced? I'm wondering because I'm looking at 2GB of Corsair right now for under $50.00 at Tigerdirect.ca for another build.

Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz E.P.P. Memory (2 x 1024) TWIN2X2048-6400C4 in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

Can't see the downside but i'm no RAM expert....opinions? Worth snatching up? The build won't be until the summer but I'm shopping now hoping to pick up the deals as they come along.

under 50 after rebate. I saw Ballistix somewhere cheaper then that without rebate hassle