250W PS with a Radeon x700 Pro - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2006, 05:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

It also depends on the quality of the PSU.
I'm using only a 200W that came with my Shuttle XN41G2 XPC.
And I'm running everything thats in my sig. with it and it's never skipped a beat.
__________________

__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 05:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to jbs4life
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Add some precuations before you jump into this. Who made your current system, as right now it looks to be a pre built one like Dell, which means you can't just stick a new PSU in. They will swap around the pins and change all sorts of things around, which means you can't just put a new PSU in.

The X700 isn't a very good card. What connector does your motherboard have? PCIE or AGP? For very slightly more you can get a 6600gt which is a better card than the X700 pro.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130220

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130214
I have a HP AMD Athlon XP Processor 3000+, 512 MB, 160 GB HD. And I need a AGP card.
__________________

jbs4life is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 10:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Add some precuations before you jump into this. Who made your current system, as right now it looks to be a pre built one like Dell, which means you can't just stick a new PSU in. They will swap around the pins and change all sorts of things around, which means you can't just put a new PSU in.

The X700 isn't a very good card. What connector does your motherboard have? PCIE or AGP? For very slightly more you can get a 6600gt which is a better card than the X700 pro.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130220

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130214
That is incorrect my friend has a dell and he screwed his PSU up and I just gave him an 300w antec and it fit in their perfectly.The connectors are all the same.Ive also put dell PSU's and Compaq(which is HP) into other computer just fine.There all ATX
format so they should be all the same.

A 350 watt would be just about perfect for your specs.Most PSU's are under rated.That 6600gt would be best.Also if you got a 512 mb stick of ram would allow to play BF2 which I think would be very awesome..But you never know if WOW will get boring like it did to me after a month.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 12:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to jbs4life
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fr34ky
That is incorrect my friend has a dell and he screwed his PSU up and I just gave him an 300w antec and it fit in their perfectly.The connectors are all the same.Ive also put dell PSU's and Compaq(which is HP) into other computer just fine.There all ATX
format so they should be all the same.

A 350 watt would be just about perfect for your specs.Most PSU's are under rated.That 6600gt would be best.Also if you got a 512 mb stick of ram would allow to play BF2 which I think would be very awesome..But you never know if WOW will get boring like it did to me after a month.
Yeah, I'm thinking about going tomorrow to circuit city and picking up a PSU, video card, and maybe another stick of ram (256 or 512).

Do you think a 350W PSU will be good with the new card and probably another stick of RAM?
jbs4life is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 12:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to jbs4life
Default

Another thing, the 6600gt at Circuit City is $250 (249.99) with a $80 dollar mail-in rebate with will bring it down to $170 (169.99).

Which is seeming like a rip off when newegg has it for $140

--

I basically want to go to a place (like compusa, circuit city etc.) and buy the stuff instead of buying it all online.

They have the x700 Pro for $179.99.

I'm planning to go tomorrow.
jbs4life is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 01:18 AM   #16 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Yeah right that is a rip off just get it online.Newegg shipping is fast as hec and your saving alot of money.Unless you want to waste your money than buy it from there.Why dont you want to buy it online?
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 03:23 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ya man just get it online.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 01:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

$179 for an x700? that is a **** of a rip off. thats how much the 6800 gs costs. plus, get it online its safe
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 04:43 PM   #19 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slick_tech15
$179 for an x700? that is a **** of a rip off. thats how much the 6800 gs costs. plus, get it online its safe
I nkow that is what I was thinking.
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.