$200 budget - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2006, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Can you help me cause i am on a budget i am going to spend $200 on a computer!!!

I have the hard drive and the 1gb of ram
__________________

Ihatewalmart is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

$200 won't buy much of a CPU, much less a CPU and a mobe, case, PSU, graphicsc ard...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If you didn't get what trotter was saying then, Ill lay it out for you, IMO you need at the LEAST 500$ to build a computer, complete with moniter, keyboard, mouse and speakers, and thats not even Close to a gamming computer.

For a gamming system I would save up at LEAST 850$.
And that would be a low end Gamming system at that.
(At least for all the new games comming out.)

Building a 200$ computer is "Possible" but is it worth it?
Probably not, Unless, the only thing you want it to ever do is word process and email...
Ste is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

For 200 you can get one of those laptops that I forgot which company is going to distribute in Africa, a laptop that is powered by a wheel you must constantly turn to generate the power, and if you want the LCD to be a bit brighter, you'll have to turn that wheel with all you've got.
Shocker is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 04:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shocker
For 200 you can get one of those laptops that I forgot which company is going to distribute in Africa, a laptop that is powered by a wheel you must constantly turn to generate the power, and if you want the LCD to be a bit brighter, you'll have to turn that wheel with all you've got.
ROFL, I can just see that. it would be like a laptop perched up on the handlebars of a bike and your spinning and pedaling as fast as you can just for it to boot.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

hahaha....30w psu @ 120 RPMs. lmao.

Ya a $200 pc is sooo not even worth it. buy an xbox man. Theres not such thing as a 200 dollar pc. My cousin did get a nice little laptop from his dads work for a whoppin 150 bucks. But that was like once in a lifetime opp.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 07:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

hey if you only have $200 minus well buy a cheap pre built system. I saw a prebuilt system with a sempron 3300+ for only $199 at compusa. That was after the rebates though.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 07:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

two words:

USED Dell
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 07:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
two words:

USED Dell
yep. good one lol.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 07:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
yep. good one lol.
I don't think that was a joke. But seriously, just go to your local radio shack and buy a $199 Compaq.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.