2 HardDrives in a PC [problem?] - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2006, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default 2 HardDrives in a PC [problem?]

In my pc, I discovered that I have 2 160 GB SATA Hard Drives.

But then I also figured that one of them was only in use and the other was just there..
As I'm currently using up the space on the first 160 GB pretty fast, I want to know how I can also use the other 160 GB aswell.

They're both NTFS formatted.
Any ideas / suggestion?

Additional Details:

In Disk management
Both drives are in dark blue, but first one says Healthy (System)

And other just says Healthy
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 07:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I don't see a problem at all. Just use the other drive, the same way you use the one your currently using.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

But how can I include it?
Willeh is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

he means how to hook a HDD up..
Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 64
Default

If you have a secondary hard drive, the jumpers on the drive need to be set to slave instead of master. Check the documentaiton of your hard drive if you have problems changing the jumper settings.
__________________
Julien aka julz

<a href=\"http://www.build-gaming-computers.com\">How to Build Gaming Computers</a>
julz is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 05:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by julz
If you have a secondary hard drive, the jumpers on the drive need to be set to slave instead of master. Check the documentaiton of your hard drive if you have problems changing the jumper settings.
SATA HDD's don't have jumpers.

For the original poster, if your problem is that you cannot access or use the HDD, do the following:

- Right click My Computer.
- Click Manage.
- Go to Disk Management on the list to the left.
- Initialize the HDD you're having problems with.
- Format the drive.
- Assign a drive letter.

From there, you should be good to go.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 07:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'm not sure but to me it sounds almost as if it could be a RAID config, what level i can't be sure though. to the original poster: is there an icon for the drive in my computer?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 08:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

The icon in my computer for both HDDS is an image of a silver drive thing. [Sorry can't describe it better]
Willeh is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 08:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i know what the icon looks like . i meant is there a seperate icon for each drive? if there is i don't really see why you have a problem. just start saving your files to that hdd.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Ok right maybe I'll just start saving stuff onto the other HDD. Thanks:]
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.