2 hard drive options: which one? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2006, 10:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default 2 hard drive options: which one?

They are running rebates on some Seagate 250GB HD's right now and I can either get one to run in external ($100) or internal ($80). The internal is OEM, and I don't know what that means really. This would be an addition, not a replacement, and run as a media drive. The external enclosure comes with a fan. What do you think would be simple and more reliable?
__________________

Midnight is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 10:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

oem means its just the hard drive its self, no cables or anything.. i would go for internal, cuz external usually us usb.. and usb upload speeds are just nasty...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 11:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

oem is just a nosboost says its just the drive by itself but its brand new its just how seagate would ship the drive to say dell or hp ususaly it would say retail which is the normal box you would see in the store with the cabels and everything.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 05:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default

So I would need 1 cable and partitioning software?
Midnight is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Yeah you would need a cable. I would get internal one unless you will be taking your HD to other places.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 07:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

yea internal would be better. why do u want partitioning software its not needed really
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 08:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You just have to make a bootable partition using the windows XP disk.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.