2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2009, 10:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK | London
Posts: 138
Default 2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit

2GB 1066MHz
OR
4GB 800MHz

On XP 32-bit, along with, for example, a GTX 260/275 (896MB).
__________________

Jewels is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 10:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: 2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit

I would say upgrade to a 64-bit OS, get the 4gb.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK | London
Posts: 138
Default Re: 2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit

So having a larger quantity of slower RAM is better?
Jewels is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Asylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 138
Default Re: 2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit

Depends on what the timings are set at!!
__________________
Processor: Core i7 920 4.2Ghz 24/7
Motherboard: EVGA X58 758 SLI
Cooling: Water cooling
Memory: 2x3Gig Kingston Hyper X 2100Mhz
Video Card: XFX GTX285
Harddisk: 2-Seagate Barracuda 250GB in RAID 0
Case: APEVIA X-JUPITER G-Type X
PSU: Corsair 1000 Watt Modular
Asylum is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: 2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit

....no, it really doesn't matter what the timings are set at in this case. The performance gain from 2 to 4 gigs of memory (in a 64bit OS environment) would make the timings somewhat insignificant. You have to realize that the performance gain going from 800 to 1066 is barely noticeable.

At this moment, the DDR2 800 kit I'm about to post is the same cost as the 1066 equivalent. Watch the price on the 800's, they fluctuate a lot.

Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

If they are the same cost when you purchase, get the 1066 kit. If the 800's are back down, it's up to you, but they will suit you fine.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK | London
Posts: 138
Default Re: 2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit

OK, but what about remaining on a 32-bit system?
Jewels is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: 2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit

Well, you'll top out around 3.5gb total memory, which means you will only be able to use 2.5gb of your RAM approximately with around a 1gb video card. Like I said, getting a 64-bit OS would be really useful.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK | London
Posts: 138
Default Re: 2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit

It would be, but that would require a lot of extra work in terms of migration. At the moment I'm just wondering what would be more beneficial in a 32-bit environment.

So is it basically 2.5GB 800MHz vs 2GB 1066MHz?
Jewels is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: 2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit

Pretty much. I would still get the 4gb for later when you can get a 64-bit, but it's up to you.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 12:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: 2 GB vs 4 GB on XP 32-bit

I have this setup, and its bout 2.4Gigs of usable RAM.

Don't see any increase either, but when i get an operunity, i'll be over to Vista 64
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64) KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 30 08-29-2009 09:05 AM
64 bit processor, 32 bit OS Thresh25 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 08-11-2008 12:47 AM
32 bit Color Quality Error jimmysohi Microsoft Windows and Software 7 01-27-2008 03:16 AM
Windows XP 64 bit Ethereal_Dragon Microsoft Windows and Software 12 09-25-2007 03:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.