1st Gaming Machine, Need Adivice - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2007, 02:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Default Re: 1st Gaming Machine, Need Adivice

To save a bit of money on the case i recommend the Jean Tech Phong II . Its not as pretty as some of the more well known cases but imo it looks nice and it has a great build quality for the price



It comes with a little tool kit with all the screws and rubber grommits things you'll ever need. There is a front 140mm fan and a 120mm back fan already installed with adjustable speed controls on the front - even on full they're very quiet. The intakes also have dust filters fitted, after 5 months of running in quite a dusty house mine still has no dust in it. Theres also a temperature meter on the front , although i don't know how much to trust the readings it gives.

Also as some have said got for the 8800gt instead of gtx , i think the 512mb will be enough unless you plan on running games at very high resolutions on a 24" + monitor.

And go for good a good make of ram (OCZ , corsair , kingston etc) but look for ones without the shiny heat sinks as it pushes up the price and unless you plan to over clock they won't be that useful.

As a vista user I'd recommend it , I've been using it for some months now and I honestly don't miss XP at all.
__________________

ttoadish is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 06:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 1st Gaming Machine, Need Adivice

XP is cheaper for a quality OS. If you want vista then you get either go with vista business, home premium, or ultimate. if you get 4GB of ram then you'll have to go with ultimate to utilize all of it. really though get XP cause its more stable, faster and more friendly for the most part.

also for everybody who's debating vista vs xp go debate that somewhere else, not in this thread.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: 1st Gaming Machine, Need Adivice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
XP is cheaper for a quality OS. If you want vista then you get either go with vista business, home premium, or ultimate. if you get 4GB of ram then you'll have to go with ultimate to utilize all of it. really though get XP cause its more stable, faster and more friendly for the most part.

also for everybody who's debating vista vs xp go debate that somewhere else, not in this thread.
ooo now im confused!!

Why do you need Vista Ultimate to utilize 4gb of ram? I thought as long as it's 64bit it's ok, so home premium 64-bit can't do 4gb of ram?
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 1st Gaming Machine, Need Adivice

because Vista Ultimate 32bit is the only 32bit OS that can natively support 4gb+
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 02:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: 1st Gaming Machine, Need Adivice

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
because Vista Ultimate 32bit is the only 32bit OS that can natively support 4gb+
Nice guess, but try this:

From Microsoft: Memory Limits for Windows Releases (Windows)

Real examples: Reader Question: Maximum Memory in 32-bit Windows Vista - Windows Vista help

Other Vistas can run 4 Gigs.

And they can not run 4gb+
__________________

Kbalz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GAming PC: Bonked out (symptoms).... freshchops Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-24-2007 02:48 AM
Quality CPU and MB combo's for gaming machine? kmk42019 System Upgrades 1 10-18-2007 03:51 AM
ultimate gaming machine comes at a steep price thirdshiftdj New Systems | Building and Buying 34 09-15-2007 03:00 PM
Win an AMD Dream Gaming Machine!! veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 31 05-08-2007 03:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.