1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2007, 09:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

Oh, thats a wiring problem. You are wiring your leads incorrectly. You can begin by tracking which lead go where and use that lead to plug it into the correct slot on the mobo, by using the manual.


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
Hookster264's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

Ok, I tried the power switch in each of the 3 (2 prong) colored connectors and found the top left one to power it up. All fans are running! Yah! Now time to connect my monitor and load up XP. Thanks for everyone's input!

Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Law's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

LOL whatever works...but you should be able to actually see tiny label near each pin on the switch if you look closely. It should say Pwr_SW + and -. You still have to plug in your reset and HDD switch though.

Law is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 05:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Cool Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

congradulations man! I hope everything goes smoothly for you. when I first built my 1st PC I had the same problem like you did, and on rare Ocassions it might happen once every so often. at least your build didn't go from working to DOA.... have fun.

-RockMan- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 10:24 AM
Installed new power supply PC still not turning on helix2301 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-30-2007 12:43 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 08:12 AM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 04:27 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 12:41 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.