1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2007, 09:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

I am putting together my first build and was doing fine. I go to start it up for the first time, but I don't get anything at all. Not a single fan. I have the XFX nForce 590 SLI mobo and am using an Xclio 500w psu. Since this is my first build, I am not sure if I have everything plugged in correctly. I have the main 24 pin power connected as well as the 4 pin connector. Help please! Thanks
__________________

Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

Is the hard drive plugged in? Is the PSU plugged in to the wall?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

Double check, that everything is securely and properly connected.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 09:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

The psu is plugged into the wall. When I turn on the psu, I see two small led lights indicate on the motherboard. Besides the standard 4 pin power connector, is there any other power connector needed for the hard drive?
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 09:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

theres a four pin molex connector
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 09:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

There are 2 strings of 4 pin connectors. is there a specific order things need to be plugged in from the psu? My psu has a 24 pin main power and a 4 pin connector. The mobo has an 8 pin power connector, and I have the 4 pin plugged in correctly according to the manual. Am I missing something?
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

pictures =)
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

I'm doing this kinda fast, so sorry for the large pics.

Ok, I have the main 24 pin, the 4 pin, and a 4 pin molex connected to the motherboard.




The front of the case has these leads. The orange is for the power switch, the green is the power led, the blue is the reset switch, the red is the hdd led.

The motherboard has color-coded connections.

Are these the same color coded as the case leads? Because the green 'power led' lead has three pin connections, but the green connection on the mobo only has 2. The blue connection on the mobo has a third prong. does it matter which one is plugged in where?
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

I doubt the color code for your front panel switches are the same as the motherboard, just refer to the manual where each are to be plug in. White is negative on the wire.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: 1st build going fine, but it won't power up! Please help!

my mobo didnt come with a paper manual. I checked online and all it says is they are the front panel connections. Update-I switched so the first 4 pin molex connector was to my mobo and I had it powered up for a couple seconds. I turned it off because I didnt have the back fan plugged in. Now I can't get it to power up again. Arrgh!
__________________

Hookster264 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Installed new power supply PC still not turning on helix2301 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-30-2007 01:43 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 05:27 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.