1gb pc2100 or 512mb pc4200? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default 1gb pc2100 or 512mb pc4200?

i have 2 512 sticks of pc2100 ddr, and 1 512 stick of pc4200 ddr2 ram.
should i put them all in? leave the pc2100s out? leave the pc4200 out?
open to suggestions ^_^
__________________

alquix is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

What speed does your motherboard support? If You put all 3 in you'll have 2 sticks of pc2100.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

• Intel® 915P Chipset
- Supports FSB 800MHz.
- Supports PCI Express x16 interface.
- Supports DDR2 400/533 memory interface.
- Support dual channel memory architecture.
alquix is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 05:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Apart from DDR RAM doesn't fit in DDR2 slots...
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 05:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Yeah you can't use any of that ram, it wont even fit, you're gonna have to buy youself some new stuff.
cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.