1GB or 2x512mb RAM - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2006, 07:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

No if you want 1gb get 2x512mb.Its better performance I would know my computers are of the highest performance and I dont care what others think and dont reply its proven that Dual-channel is better than Single channel.just get dual sticks of 512mb its fine, if you want 2gb which i dont think so you would be asking than get 2gb.Save your money up and just get 2gb now if thats what your gonna be doing down the road.
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 11:01 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

^^^ He might not have the money to buy 2GB now, so I maintain he should get the single stick now, and upgrade to 2GB later on. While dual-channel performs better, you wouldn't really notice a difference in real-world performance with a single 1GB stick. But you would make it easier for future upgrading. THINK PEOPLE! 4x512MB RAM is awful compared to 2x1GB! Not everyone can buy everything they want now, and forget about the future!
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 01:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

also for the typical user the difference is minimal between dual channel and single channel so it makes sense to go for the single 1gb stick for the reasons everyone keeps saying.
__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 01:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by magouster
Keep in mind the effect dual-channel has. Anybody else want to comment? I'm willing to bet good money 2x512MB is better than a single 1GB stick.
yea, i remember my one teacher saying that 2 512 mb is better than one 1 gb stick. i'd go with that.
whoosh88 is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 02:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

go with 1 1gb stick like everyone is saying. You won't get dual channel, but it prevents a hassle in the future when you upgrade to 2gbs.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 05:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

thats unless u couldnt be stuffed upgrading later
but they're right
if u DO indeed plan to upgrade then the 2-5% performance increase of dual channel will make no difference to you
epecially wen u do upgrade
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 06:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

yeah that's true. It depends on if you think you'll upgrade later on or not. If you don't think you will, then get the 2 sticks, if you DO think you will though, get the 1 stick.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 11:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default

I am planning on upgrading to the 2GBs later.
viper15 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:30 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default

2x512 mb is better than 1x1gb stick...what are some of you thinking man -_-
battlewarden is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 03:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default

Something like kingston or corsair value ram. My plan is to eventually have 2 gigs of ram. So right now I am going to buy the 1 gig stick and buy another gig later.

Another question, my mobo has 2 ram slots, in my computer that I have now has some pc2700 ram in it. Could I put the one gig stick of pc 3200 and the 256mb stick of pc2700 on my new board. Will it downclock both to pc 2700 and if so will it be worth it to have that extra 256 mbs at the slower speed? Thanks for your help.
__________________

viper15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.