1997 gateway CRT? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2006, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default 1997 gateway CRT?

im thinking about buying a used computer out of the B/S/T section, but the only other monitor i have is an old gateway CRT from 1997, is it gonna perform jlike a cRT from today?, or will there be any huge neggative effect if i try to run modern games on it?
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 05:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Should work about the same.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default

Yeah, it should be fine. I'm using one from 1996 right now (Gateway CrystalScan, not sure of the model number). I can get it up to 1280x1024 true color, and probably higher if I had a better video card.
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

youll be fine, i dont think that there is much difference between and crt from then and now.
__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 05:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Is it flat?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 10:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I don't think flat CRT's were very common in 1997.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 11:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Is it flat?
no, but my 15" dell CRT sint even flat so i dont care/mind
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 07:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Well, my monitor is from 1997; it is not completely flat. It is flat vertically and slightly curved horizontally.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.