180 GB OCZ Agility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2012, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default 180 GB OCZ Agility



I felt the need to flaunt my most recent purchase. I picked it up for $139 on Newegg... One of their shell shocker deals. It has 525/500mb/s read/write speed respectively and it is BLAZING fast. Boot time from power button to desktop is about 30 seconds now. That is even quicker then my previous SSD (Which I still have). So far, I'd recommend it, I like OCZ products, they seem to be good quality for a good price.

Prices are back up on them now, but I got a steal

Newegg.com - OCZ Agility 3 AGT3-25SAT3-180G 2.5" 180GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 03:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: 180 GB OCZ Agility

Quote:
Originally Posted by pro2a View Post


I felt the need to flaunt my most recent purchase. I picked it up for $139 on Newegg... One of their shell shocker deals. It has 525/500mb/s read/write speed respectively and it is BLAZING fast. Boot time from power button to desktop is about 30 seconds now. That is even quicker then my previous SSD (Which I still have). So far, I'd recommend it, I like OCZ products, they seem to be good quality for a good price.

Prices are back up on them now, but I got a steal

Newegg.com - OCZ Agility 3 AGT3-25SAT3-180G 2.5" 180GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
I guess boot times are dependent on RAM and CPU speed too. My boot time from cold to desktop (including password) is 25.6 seconds on a Vertex 2.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: 180 GB OCZ Agility

I've never bothered timing my bootup speed, since a good 10 seconds is annoyingly taken up by BIOS stuff (the screen for 'press blah blah to enter setup appears multiple times).
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: 180 GB OCZ Agility

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
I've never bothered timing my bootup speed, since a good 10 seconds is annoyingly taken up by BIOS stuff (the screen for 'press blah blah to enter setup appears multiple times).
Mine is so quick that sometimes I have to reboot because it flashes by and I forget to hit the delete key.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 10:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: 180 GB OCZ Agility

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Mine is so quick that sometimes I have to reboot because it flashes by and I forget to hit the delete key.
Lol. Me too...
__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default Re: 180 GB OCZ Agility

My work was testing a bunch of 40 gig intels for server application, and once they were done gave them up for cheap!

I watched my boot up time go from a minute or two to about 20-30 secs; however, I agree with Yami that the BIOS thing is annoying. I hear Windows 8 will not have any BIOS so that should go away...

I definitely am happy SSDs are sub $1/gig now and am looking to pick up one for games very soon...
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 05:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 180 GB OCZ Agility

Umm, Graham, Windows does not control the BIOS. It only reads from it. The BIOS is on the very motherboard
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: 180 GB OCZ Agility

How would Windows 8 load without a BIOS...?
__________________
tj_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: 180 GB OCZ Agility

I think he's referring to how tablets coming with Windows 8 will just load the very bare minimum when booting; if you want to go into the 'full' BIOS you have to choose that option in the Shutdown menu in Windows 8.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default Re: 180 GB OCZ Agility

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
I think he's referring to how tablets coming with Windows 8 will just load the very bare minimum when booting; if you want to go into the 'full' BIOS you have to choose that option in the Shutdown menu in Windows 8.
Correct - I don't know the specifics but desktops alike should have this feature as well - at least from what I last read. I plan to keep Win 7 and skip Win 8 as I see it more as a touch interface rather anything worthwhile for gaming applications.
__________________

__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Agility 3 120GB SSD Slaymate Official TF Reviews 7 10-13-2011 11:28 PM
Possible OCZ Agility problems? Press_Corpse New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-05-2011 02:43 AM
OCZ Agility 2 60GB SSD Slaymate Official TF Reviews 17 10-05-2010 10:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.