1440 by 900 resolution - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2007, 01:16 PM   #21 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Oh My God!

actually those cards dont look too bad! and i was thinking for his peace of mind he will know he has a pretty good card
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 01:18 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
also found a list of PCI video cards, i recommend u use newegg tho:

PCI Video Cards, PCI Video Capture Card, PCI Graphic Cards at TigerDirect.com

use the list copy/paste it into newegg
hehe good job....again...the 9250 and fx5200 look pretty good for 49 bucks. Can probably find either one on ebay for even a tenner or something.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 01:02 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

These are the two cards I have seen being sold close to me that are pci. ATI Radeon 9250 128 mb and Evga-e-geforce fx 5500 128mb. Which one would be better? The Geforce is $10 more. ANd, would both these cards be able to give the resolution I need right out of the box or would I need to Find drivers for them?
mikemar1 is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 02:52 AM   #24 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

i had a fx5200 (well a fx5200 gpu on a mx4000 card) and it hit 1600*whatever, so it should hit it. my bud got the actual card, and he gets like 2800*somehting (i dunno, cellphones suck), and i have the mx4000 in the pc next to me, and ive gotten that thing to 1920*1080, so it should work.

also, you can use a tool called...ooh what is it i cant remember what it was for the life of me right now. ill edit back with it.

yay i found it, its called powerstrip.

PowerStrip - Free Software Downloads and Software Reviews - Download.com
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 04:40 AM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemar1 View Post
These are the two cards I have seen being sold close to me that are pci. ATI Radeon 9250 128 mb and Evga-e-geforce fx 5500 128mb. Which one would be better? The Geforce is $10 more. ANd, would both these cards be able to give the resolution I need right out of the box or would I need to Find drivers for them?
I'd just get the radeon and save the 10 dollars...the geforce supports directx 9.0 while the radeon doesn't...but since you won't be gaming I don't think that's an issue.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 03:35 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Well, I spent the day scouring the stores for a pci card and came up with a Radeon 7000, so I'm hoping I'll be able to get the res I want, if not I'll take it back and get the 9250 which the guy at the store said would definitely give me the proper res. I went for the cheaper card because it was 40 bucks instead of 80, so hopefully it will work out.
__________________

mikemar1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running LCD other than native resolution.... b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 04-24-2007 03:51 PM
Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI regeisle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-16-2007 09:37 AM
Resolution stuck in 1024x768 after install Radeon drivers.. mack Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-15-2007 12:03 AM
set screen resolution in BIOS changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-30-2007 06:38 AM
PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-26-2007 05:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.