1440 by 900 resolution - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2007, 10:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

no i would seriously pay like £6 more and get a 256mb
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 10:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
no i would seriously pay like 6 more and get a 256mb
his puter is obviously ancient. I dont think it would make a difference.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 12:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

how do you know its ancient?
Nick is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 11:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Yes, my computer is pretty old my boardis an ECS k7s7ag, my cpu is an AMD Athlon xp 2800 with 768 of ram, Would a 256 be better than a 128 vid card or would it be a wate of money. I've decided on a Radeon 9250. I don't do any gaming and basically surf the net and play music, movies on my system.
mikemar1 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 01:01 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

get the 8600gt dx10 and good for hd videos even the 8500 if u dont play games
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 09:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

How can he get a 8600 with only PCI NORMAL Not PCI-E
__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 12:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

a 256mb card is much better in the long run
Nick is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 12:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
how do you know its ancient?
Because he doesn't have any PCI-E or AGP ports.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemar1 View Post
Yes, my computer is pretty old my boardis an ECS k7s7ag, my cpu is an AMD Athlon xp 2800 with 768 of ram, Would a 256 be better than a 128 vid card or would it be a wate of money. I've decided on a Radeon 9250. I don't do any gaming and basically surf the net and play music, movies on my system.
I guarantee you will notice no difference between the 128mb and 256mb cards. I have a 32mb geforce go fx5200 which is not a very good card at all...yet it runs my 19'' widescreen 1440x900 perfectly for all applications (except gaming of course)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobe24 View Post
get the 8600gt dx10 and good for hd videos even the 8500 if u dont play games
Dude...he said he doesn't have a PCI-Express port

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
a 256mb card is much better in the long run
Why? His puter is barely even vista capable and he said he doesn't do any gaming....
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 01:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
Because he doesn't have any PCI-E or AGP ports.....




I guarantee you will notice no difference between the 128mb and 256mb cards. I have a 32mb geforce go fx5200 which is not a very good card at all...yet it runs my 19'' widescreen 1440x900 perfectly for all applications (except gaming of course)



Dude...he said he doesn't have a PCI-Express port



Why? His puter is barely even vista capable and he said he doesn't do any gaming....

u beat me to the punch gurusan
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 01:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

also found a list of PCI video cards, i recommend u use newegg tho:

PCI Video Cards, PCI Video Capture Card, PCI Graphic Cards at TigerDirect.com

use the list copy/paste it into newegg
__________________

veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running LCD other than native resolution.... b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 04-24-2007 03:51 PM
Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI regeisle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-16-2007 09:37 AM
Resolution stuck in 1024x768 after install Radeon drivers.. mack Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-15-2007 12:03 AM
set screen resolution in BIOS changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-30-2007 06:38 AM
PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-26-2007 05:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.