1440 by 900 resolution - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2007, 01:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Default 1440 by 900 resolution

Hello, I just purchased a viewsonic q19wb monitor and I can't seem to be able to set it to it's natural resolution. The highest I can get is 1280 by 1024. The one I have it set to is 1152 by 864. This seems to be the most pleasing visually. My video card is an integrated xabre 200. My question is would I be able to get this video card to accept the higher resolution and is there a utility I could use to do this.
If this is not possible what video card would allow me to do this. It would have to be a pci card though, as I don't want to upgrade my cpu and mainboard. Also would running a monitor on a lesser resolution than called for harm the monitor in anyway?
__________________

mikemar1 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

PCI normal? or Express?
Could it not be an AGP?


X200 can't hit them resolutions, I might be wrong. Updated drivers may allow it. Try that first.
__________________

__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 09:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Yeah try updating the drivers first otherwise I suggest something like a geforce fx5200 or Radeon 9250
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 10:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

PNY Verto GeForce6 6200 256MB DDR DVI VGA PCI Graphics Card


If you are from UK use the link above...if not I don't know where to get a PCI card.
__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 10:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

yep...integrated 200 graphics wont reach that high...i reccomend a new card.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 11:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

i have a ati x550 256mb, it was very cheap £40 and that works great on my 1440x900 monitor
Nick is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 12:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

my radeon 9250 runs it so i guess u should buy a new card, but i'm sure ur card can trample mine...
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Thanks for the replies. I tried updating the drivers and it allowed me to get higher resolution, but not 1440 by 900. It made the screen very fuzzy and jumpy and I ended up doing a system restore. I was thinking of getting a Radeon 9250 128 meg because it is cheap and it seems to allow the resolution I want. I only have regular pci slots so it seems I'm limited.
mikemar1 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 11:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

That's a shame Mike. I think one of my machines is still running the 9250. I don't use it much though. Good luck!
__________________
---
penfold

www.futurelooks.com/
www.megatechnews.com
penfold is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 07:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 1440 by 900 resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemar1 View Post
Thanks for the replies. I tried updating the drivers and it allowed me to get higher resolution, but not 1440 by 900. It made the screen very fuzzy and jumpy and I ended up doing a system restore. I was thinking of getting a Radeon 9250 128 meg because it is cheap and it seems to allow the resolution I want. I only have regular pci slots so it seems I'm limited.
Yeah like I said...a Radeon 9250 or a geforce fx5200 are in the same price range and will support the resolutions you need.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running LCD other than native resolution.... b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 04-24-2007 03:51 PM
Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI regeisle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-16-2007 09:37 AM
Resolution stuck in 1024x768 after install Radeon drivers.. mack Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-15-2007 12:03 AM
set screen resolution in BIOS changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-30-2007 06:38 AM
PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-26-2007 05:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.