1 SATA, loads. 2 SATA, fails to load - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2006, 11:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 26
Default 1 SATA, loads. 2 SATA, fails to load

I already have 1 SATA drive all good and got XP on it, had it for years now and nothing wrong.

Got a new SATA HDD for xmas and plugged it in etc. etc.

However, when I try and boot, it comes upto the XP screen, fails to do anything, then computer restarts.

But, if I unplug the new SATA drive it works again.

So obviously its something to do with the new drive, but I cannot see why it doesn't boot windows.

My boot preference is SATA OnChip (after the mighty floppy). Don't see why XP won't load up,

any help is some help (within reason :P),

thanks in advance,

Lokolo

[edit]

the new harddrive literally has nothing on it, completely new drive. haven't installed drivers as was going to do this when XP loads up and detects new hardware - maybe this is the problem?

was OEM drive so didn't get drivers but downloaded them, not sure where to put them as its not an installation file, just the driver files.


and wow, long post, sorry if you don't like to read guys/girls!
__________________

Lokolo is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Maybe the new one is set on master, and so the BIOS can't decide, if theres two master hard drives. Set the new one to slave.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 26
Default SATA *not IDE*

SATA don't have master/slave options

still struggling to figure it out rar
Lokolo is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 06:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Have you tried it on other SATA ports?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.