Should a Support Tech Use a Tablet?

Jerrduford

Solid State Member
I'm a relatively new technician in the field. I can pretty actively support anything from Laptops to servers. I've been really confident with my laptop, but now that I start to see other technicians carrying tablets (whether they're as their main device or they're just using them as a means of testing with other tablets), I was curious on user input on using them.

I personally have been eyeballing tablets since they started coming out with full Windows 8 operating systems on them. I may even be interested in replacing my laptop (nearly the size/weight of an ultrabook) with something more portable. Lugging this thing and its case around can sometimes be a drag when I also have a toolbag and lunchbox.

Has anyone in the field used a tablet as a main device? Recommend it? Hated it?
I'm basically just looking for someone to either tell me to buy one, or not, and why.

My main fears are battery life and perhaps performance. I can attach USB to RJ45 if a networking situation calls for hard connection, and I can connect an external printer/optical drive if the situation calls for that.

As a main device? I wouldn't. For certain aspects in the field, yes a tablet is nice. I've used one a few times at work when I have to work on a system and I can just remote into my system at my desk rather than lugging my laptop around.

As a main device? I wouldn't. For certain aspects in the field, yes a tablet is nice. I've used one a few times at work when I have to work on a system and I can just remote into my system at my desk rather than lugging my laptop around.

Interesting concept. I have considered the idea of getting a tablet (back when androids were first emerging and popular) and using it 100% as a virtual connection to say, my home desktop.