Question About SIM Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2018, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Default Question About SIM Cards

I recently bought a device and it doesn't yet recognize the SIM card I put in it. Will the SIM card only be recognized after I have a service plan or is it something due to a faulty device that I should replace before spending on a service plan?

Many Thanks-
__________________

__________________
Aetho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,494
Default Re: Question About SIM Cards

The device should be recognizing that the SIM has been inserted, even if only to tell you that it is the wrong SIM.
__________________

__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 04:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: England
Posts: 11
Default Re: Question About SIM Cards

Hi there! I suggest that you seek advice from the service provider from whom you bought the SIM card! The card should normally be recognised the moment you put it in. You might not yet be able to benefit from all the functionalities, but you should be able to tell that a new SIM card has been added to the phone!
__________________
DavidTechy06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 108
Default Re: Question About SIM Cards

The card will be recognised even if you dont have a plan, of course you cant make calls or use texts/ be charged extras if you dont have a plan however. I know this because I have experience of this. Also, you don't actually need a sim card to use the phone, you only need a sim card to activate the phone. After, even if you took out the sim card it will function (minus the calls and texts). So you can use another person's sim card to activate your phone.
__________________
~Code&Anime~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sim Cards xerolen Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 17 10-25-2017 01:53 AM
blank sim cards rulezero Off Topic Discussion 0 01-14-2017 03:55 PM
Future SIM cards Skaut Polls 0 01-10-2006 10:06 AM
Sim City 4 question Yuber PC Gaming 14 10-12-2003 06:05 AM
Someone teach me how to play Sim City 4....... MtX PC Gaming 8 01-29-2003 05:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.