iPhone as HDMI display - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2019, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Zman350x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Default iPhone as HDMI display

I want to use my iPhone as an external display. I don't need anything big or fancy, maybe just lightning to HDMI dongle and a free app. I'm going to use it on the go, cannot use wifi/internet.

(Also, cheap would be great, I don't want to spend $50 on a dongle.)
__________________

__________________
Zman350x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,227
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: iPhone as HDMI display

Get a chromecast, I think it's like $30 in the US
https://store.google.com/product/chromecast
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Zman350x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Default Re: iPhone as HDMI display

I think you mis-understood me. I want my phone to BE the monitor.
__________________
Zman350x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,227
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: iPhone as HDMI display

Ah, in that case I don't know of any cheap solution sorry :/ some devices will support apps that let you do it (e.g. air display for macs lets you use an iphone/tablet as a 2nd monitor) but not quite what you want.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 09:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Zman350x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Default Re: iPhone as HDMI display

https://www.amazon.com/Adapter-mirro...ightning&psc=1
I was hoping for something like this but use it for input rather than output.

Think the product in the link would work?
__________________
Zman350x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 06:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: iPhone as HDMI display

This isn't possible with the limitations Apple puts in place. There probably aren't even direct pins to interface with the display available externally. Your best bet would be to break it open and find a diagram of the pinouts for the display, and tbh that's no easy task.
__________________

- iFargle.com -
Desktop || 7700k 32GB RAM 2TB M.2 SATA GTX 1080 DAN A4v4 Fedora 30 WS
Laptop || Lenovo X1 Carbon 16GB RAM 512GB SSD Intel UHD 620 Ubuntu 19.10
OnePlus 6 LineageOS 16 64GB iPad Air 2 || Battle.net: iFargle #1561 Steam: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 01:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: morocco
Posts: 6
Default Re: iPhone as HDMI display

DONT BREAK IT OPEN
__________________
Achraf Abo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 05:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
U.F.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 224
Default Re: iPhone as HDMI display

brings to mind the scene in alice in wonderland where the mad hatter uses all the stuff on the table to fix the rabbits watch, haha.


__________________

__________________
U.F.O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched from DVI to HDMI, Windows detects phantom display. joelm3103 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 07-01-2016 08:09 AM
Sceptre X246W Hdmi to Hdmi PROBLEM! Drugger Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-01-2010 03:00 AM
Cannot get a display, cannot fix display issue with no display Rgortiz3 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-15-2009 06:34 PM
Playing in HDMI with no HDMI Plug-in dave39 Microsoft XBox 7 02-11-2008 07:43 PM
Very Dim Display on Dell smartstep 250N laptop: lcd display or backlight? amillindsay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-09-2005 10:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.