i pod touch ?????????????

XWrench3

Daemon Poster
ok, i am a real newbie to all of this tech stuff. if you have read any of my past posts, it is pretty obvious. but this is an entirely new direction, brought about by my son. he wants an i pod touch. i do not even know what this thing is, what it does, or what it is going to require me to pay for after we buy it, if we do. i am old enough that all of this stuff i can do without. but he wants to be like everyone else. i do not necessarily want him to be like me. but i am not sure i can afford all the stuff he wants either. i looked it up, and i see that is is a camera, and he can listen to music and it looks like he can surf the web? what about the app store? how many thousands of apps is he going to need, and what do they cost? is it a telephone also? thanks for any info you can give me on this. i am great with hot rods and motorcylcles, but electronics to me is an alternator, alarm, or cdi ignition.

The iPod Touch is the essential jack of all trades item for kids these days. It is a MP3 Player, Video Player, it has a web browser but only over WiFi, not over the Cell Network. It does have a camera for FaceTalk over WiFi. It doesnt have a built in telephone app, but I am sure there is one in the App Store.

As far as that is concerned, it is what it sounds like. A Store where people go to get Apps that run on the device. They can be anything from games to whatever really. The AppStore for Apple has the largest selection of apps at around 700,000 apps or so. Not saying that all are needed or necessary, but they are there. How many are needed are up to the person. I need the hundred or so apps I have on my device, I do use them all at one point or another in every week. But that is me and not everyone. I know people that have 20 apps and they think that is too much. So there is no telling how many he will "need" as we cant speak for him in that matter.