Charging USB Devices via HUB with no host

ratzlaff

Baseband Member
I have a few devices that I want to charge every night. I don't like using a lot of wall warts plugged into a power strip. I recently had the epiphany that I could use a powered USB hub as a 'usb power strip'. I just have one wall wart and I can charge multiple devices at once without clogging up my power strip.

I ran into some issues though.

When I don't have a host (PC) connected to the USB hub my devices will only charge with a 'power only' usb charging cable. But if I use a standard usb cable that can be used for data, I do not charge. Well that is not entirely true. I get a trickle...my phone doesn't even say that it is charging, but my power meter says that it is consuming about 1W...maybe less like 0.7W. Well under the 8W that it draws with a charging only cable or when I connect it to a host.

But when I connect it to a host it charges fine.

That does not make sense to me. I am a computer engineer. I would imagine that the hub should transfer power regardless of data being transferred. Clearly I am missing something though.

Does anyone know what is going on?

Thanks!

Honestly this just sounds like a bad idea all around. First of all, what sort of usb wall charger are you plugging the hub into? I guarantee you the amperage and voltage for all the devices you are trying to charge is not going to be the same, this is likely going to kill your battery life. Most USB hubs are controlled by a driver on your computer that will regulate the power to each device. They also use a certain amount of power themselves. Without the driver, the power output is likely to be erratic and potentially damaging.

As far as the cable difference, when not plugged into a wall charger the data cable will partially short itself causing a massive drop in efficiency, the unfortunate result of companies being unable to coordinate with each-other and conform any sort of standard.