bluetooth question...NEED HELP FAST - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2006, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,247
Default bluetooth question...NEED HELP FAST

I bought an inspiron. IT doesnt have bluetooth.
I want to get a keyboard mouse that is bluetooth, is their a way i can by a bluetooth card and put it in the xpress slot, or get some kind of hardware to install.
IF there is could any of you guys suggest me with some decent working and good priced products.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-4770
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
Zotac RTX 2080
Samsung S10+
PS4 Pro, One X, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 04:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Google is your friend.....
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 02:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

There are better ways...
Which Inspiron do you have?
eBay is an even better friend: http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-DELL-Bluetoo...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/Dell-Inspiron-La...QQcmdZViewItem

Depends on which model you had of course. But basically look through there and there are multiple modules for Dell Inspiron's.

On a side note, ya sure you want to go with Bluetooth KB/Mouse? I've read terrible reviews on many of them. Check Neweggs customer reviews on any bluetooth setup and you'll see what I mean. Drops connections every few minutes, takes awhile to pick it back up, etc.
__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,247
Default

thanks, i guess ill stick with wireless.
Bought this nice wireless lazer mouse, works wonderfully
__________________
Intel Core i7-4770
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
Zotac RTX 2080
Samsung S10+
PS4 Pro, One X, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default Bluetooth for your Dell Insprion Laptop

Lots of fun with bluetooth.
It was supposed to put highly paid network people out of business.
It is a shorter range ( 30 feet or so) wireless , The same frequency as g /b routers and 2.4 gig cordless phones.
You may have to buy a usb bluetooth adapter ( like transmitter i guess ).
There are a number of standards of bluetooth. The oldest one is 1.1 I think. The newer the number the less interference issues supposedly. They should be backward compatible. Check the bluetooth version of the device you wish to connect to. You would not want to shortchange yourself on quality especially if it is a headset of some type.
The install has a number of steps. To pair the devices . To connect the devices and then a pin number of the remote device ( for security) . The pin number should be in the manual or if you have no access to the manual then the online manual.
I had a Iogear headset . Even after all that - paired , connected , PIN , chrirping there was one more button to press to tell the headset to take over the audio.
The techs were more than useless at Iogear. Clueless. The line was one line in the manual on a page on connecting laptops.
The manual was about the ize of 3 inches 2 inches in size.
Have fun.
__________________
visionof is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default

My mistake in explanation.
The Pin passcode is for the remote device . You can find the PIN in the manual for the product . You enter the code in the Bluetooth utility that runs in your laptop computer not at the device end .
__________________

__________________
visionof is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.