*** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread *** - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > New Technology and Products
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2009, 07:42 PM   #21 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: *** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread ***

^^^ later though. I need to run 3DMark06 now like i said n back up my data. The file system is corrupted n i dont have time to fix it now.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 07:55 PM   #22 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: *** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread ***

well after some reviews and just prior knowledge it's no doubt the i7 just has alot more brute force moving the big calculations, I'd say the integrated memory controller really out Intel out there, basically just a Intel made X4 9950 on steroids and speed. EDIT: well of course with with real DDR3 support that is
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 08:07 PM   #23 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: *** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by rollingthunder4000 View Post
well after some reviews and just prior knowledge it's no doubt the i7 just has alot more brute force moving the big calculations, I'd say the integrated memory controller really out Intel out there, basically just a Intel made X4 9950 on steroids and speed. EDIT: well of course with with real DDR3 support that is
legionhardware benchmarked the Core i7 920 with DDR3 1066 (slower then DDR2 RAM, really) and it still beat the Phenom II 940 in most tests.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 08:19 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: *** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread ***

currently installing vista home pre 32-bit
bit of a snag loading F3H BIOS, that kinda scared me, but all good now.
won't be overclocking tonight. little to much booze in me to be thinking about changing numbers XD. i'd like to burn this guy in for a day or 2 first, make sure it's all running good before i start attacking it.

i'll hopefully run some stuff @ stock though.

edit:
forgot to say...BIOS reported 14C idle. O_0
it is pretty cold in the basement though. about 64F, 17C....not sure if this is a correct reading or just hadn't got hot yet.
will check later.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 12:40 AM   #25 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: *** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread ***

ORDERD MY 940!!!

Now 2 weeks of waiting........ Zzzzzzzz
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 08:42 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: *** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread ***

2 weeks?
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 12:08 PM   #27 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,266
Default Re: *** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by CntdwnToExtn View Post
currently installing vista home pre 32-bit
Why 32-bit, especially with a quad? I'm running 64-bit and it is smoooooooth.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 12:13 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: *** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Why 32-bit, especially with a quad? I'm running 64-bit and it is smoooooooth.
OEM
bought 32-bit when i had only 2gig RAM, as well by buddy had 64-bit and was having major driver issues. this was quite a while ago.
from what i've read only Retail allows you up upgrade to 64-bit for free?
supposedly i can aquire a 64-bit OEM and use my key...but haven't see whether it's true or not and legit?
i am the OEM, but microsoft doesn't provide an upgrade because of the 'major' OEM's might not support 64-bit if pre-installed w/ 32-bit
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 10:50 PM   #29 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: *** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread ***

ok so my MSI K9A2 Platinum isnt reading the Phenom right in BIOS, latest version is 1.6.

Apok on xtremesystems.org posted beta BIOS, latest being 1.67. Should i download it?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 11:13 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: *** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
ok so my MSI K9A2 Platinum isnt reading the Phenom right in BIOS, latest version is 1.6.

Apok on xtremesystems.org posted beta BIOS, latest being 1.67. Should i download it?
Try it out... you never know.. there might be a side effect or two... just back up the original in case things go bad...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am bored thread; PMA430 review Trifid Off Topic Discussion 5 12-13-2007 04:38 PM
Post 3Dmark06 scores in the official thread Trotter Overclocking and Modding 0 11-09-2007 04:03 PM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 06:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.