Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > New Technology and Products
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2010, 08:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card

More details (and pics) on GALAXY's dual-GPU GTS 250 :: TweakTown

Quote:
A short while back we learned of a highly unique GTS 250 graphics card from NVIDIA partner GALAXY in that it carries two GTS 250 GPUs onboard. The information that our VGA reviewer Shane acquired was somewhat limited at that time, but he's now learned a lot more about it along with having confirmation that GALAXY does in fact intend to mass produce this model.





As you can see from the fresh pictures above which reveals the type of cooling setup used, due to its design it looks like it'll take up three slots in your case, but will ensure there are no problems with its out of box overclock at 675MHz on the core and 1696MHz shader.

With the GTX 285 having reached EOL, the GTS 250 GPU is currently the fastest desktop GPU NVIDIA has in its lineup (until Fermi arrives) and GALAXY have done everything they can to make the most out of the model, not only stopping at making it a dual-GPU setup.

Shane has also acquired some screenshots of the card in action, revealing its performance characteristics through the use of Futuremark's 3DMark Vantage and 3DMark06.

Enlarged Image :: TweakTown

Enlarged Image :: TweakTown

Looking at the results here, it appears the card performs slightly better than a singular GTX 280 card and depending on what pricing GALAXY will release it with, it should attract a lot of interest at launch I am sure.

NEWS SOURCE
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,266
Default Re: Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card

I'm sorry, but that looks so ghetto as to be ridiculous. Unless it is dirt cheap I can see no real reason to ever consider buying one.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 11:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card

Folding could be one reason... although it takes up 3 slots... talk about waste of space...

Does look ghetto though
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 08:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card

Doesnt look too bad...would look better if there was a shroud around the three fans.

Amd wtf is that extra cooler with three fans on it at the bottom? looks like it may be optional to use that part.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 01:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card

hm, what do you mean? the 3 fans are part of the cooler. looks like they need to be directly powered from the psu with that molex there but atleast they provide a fan controller.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 02:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card

Quote:
I'm sorry, but that looks so ghetto as to be ridiculous. Unless it is dirt cheap I can see no real reason to ever consider buying one.
i agree. The only thing i would be interested in is the folding capabilities, but even then, 3 slots?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 09:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card

ya 3 slots kills it...
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 09:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card

^well, now that i think about it, 2 gts250's would take up 4 slots, this actually takes up one less. But still, what kinda of a dual gpu card uses three slots lol. It just all sounds Jerry rigged up.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 09:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card

yeah, but most pci-e slots ared space like

pcie
something
pcie
something

so there is really no difference (with how many gpu's you can run) between the dual gpu card using 3, or two single gpu cards using 4
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 10:02 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Galaxy Working On Dual-GPU Card

Quote:
yeah, but most pci-e slots ared space like

pcie
something
pcie
something

so there is really no difference (with how many gpu's you can run) between the dual gpu card using 3, or two single gpu cards using 4
true...
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading video card for Dell M1710 - Dual link DVI-D possible? keliwah Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-13-2009 10:49 AM
SDHC card not working please help bomt697 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-24-2008 09:55 PM
Setting up dual dlisplay with a NVidia Ge4 MX 4000 graphics card... sspeedy00 System Upgrades 12 02-16-2008 08:22 AM
SanDisk MicroSD Memory Card Not Working Andrew B. Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 1 02-14-2008 08:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.