CUDA - Video Encoder. - BadaBOOM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > New Technology and Products
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2008, 11:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default CUDA - Video Encoder. - BadaBOOM



Quote:
Those numbers are compared to an Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770, the fastest quad-core CPU available today. In the worst case scenario, the GTX 280 is around 40% faster than encoding on Intel's fastest CPU alone.
Quote:
RapiHD and thus BadaBOOM are both CUDA applications, meaning they are written in C and compiled to run on NVIDIA's GPUs. They won't work without a CUDA-enabled GPU (GeForce 8xxx, 9xxx or GTX 280/260) and they won't work on AMD/ATI hardware.
AnandTech: More Details on Elemental's GPU Accelerated H.264 Encoder
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: CUDA - Video Encoder. - BadaBOOM

I saw something like this on Youtube a while back, well good scores

For some reason this also got my attention, and it makes me confused but it is related here...
Nvidia Supports ATI Radeon PhysX Efforts - Tom's Hardware
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 03:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: CUDA - Video Encoder. - BadaBOOM

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
I saw something like this on Youtube a while back, well good scores

For some reason this also got my attention, and it makes me confused but it is related here...
Nvidia Supports ATI Radeon PhysX Efforts - Tom's Hardware
Just reading that, its funny because ive always wanted an ATI card for my new build, then i saw the encoding on Nvidia cards and then i said, wow, Nvidia's for me. BUT now that there going to be on ATI cards as well, its back to ATI.

Im guessing its gonna go back and forth quite a few times between now and my Christmas rig.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 11:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: CUDA - Video Encoder. - BadaBOOM

I've always told people that hardware encoders are better then cpu ones. I use the canopus, osprey quartet gl and opticast. gpu is kinda the same technology.


so do my graphic card have to be one of those list or just any nvidia that has 256 mb ram or more? can I use just one instead if 2. this is a lot cheaper than a real hardware encoder


a comparison of hardware and software encoding

http://www.digital-rapids.com/Products_DemoRoom.html
http://www.enseo.com/PDFs/QuartetGLi.pdf
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 05:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: CUDA - Video Encoder. - BadaBOOM

I wish they had compared Avio video converter for ATI cards to badaboom in that review.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 05:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: CUDA - Video Encoder. - BadaBOOM

Guys...please check the dates on threads!!

I dont wanna hand out infractions.....remember 3 months is the time limit.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 01:26 AM
The Best Cd Ripper Period EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 31 09-18-2008 09:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.