AMD Preparing ''Thuban'' Desktop Six-Core Processor.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > New Technology and Products
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2009, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default AMD Preparing ''Thuban'' Desktop Six-Core Processor..

Quote:
AMD is planning to create a desktop implementation of its Opteron "Istanbul" monolithic six-core processor. Codenamed "Thuban" (named after a star in the Draco constellation, which means Dragon), the new processor will be based on the socket AM3 package for compatibility with existing and future desktop core logic. It features six cores, 9 MB of total cache (6 x 512 KB L2 + 6 MB L3). Thuban is aimed to make for AMD's high-end desktop processor, as the company prepares to face competition from a near-complete lineup of processors based on the Nehalem/Westmere architectures from Intel. It is expected to be the posterboy for AMD's "Leo" high-end consumer desktop platform that succeeds its current Dragon platform.

Some of the key components that make up AMD Leo platform are the upcoming AMD 890FX and 890GX chipset, companion SB800 series southbridge chips, and members of AMD's Evergreen family of DirectX 11 compliant graphics processors. On the software front, AMD will give its Fusion and Overdrive utilities some big updates. The SB800 series southbridge chips will feature native support for SATA 6 Gb/s and USB 3.0; connectivity is further enhanced by integrated Broadcom MAC Ethernet interfaces. While the Leo platform is expected to launch almost simultaneously with the 8-series chipsets, the six-core Thuban processor on the other hand comes later. It is due only in Q3 2010. Thuban will have come out an year after its enterprise implementation in the form of Opteron "Istanbul".
AMD Leo 2010 Platform - Enthusiasts' Dream Setup? by VR-Zone | Premier News Source
AMD Readies ?Thuban? Six-Core Desktop Processor - X-bit labs

__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: AMD Preparing ''Thuban'' Desktop Six-Core Processor..

It's good to see that there will be a desktop version of Istanbul unfortunately Q3 2010 is to late for it to give them a much needed performance advantage over Intel's high end desktop chips
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Preparing ''Thuban'' Desktop Six-Core Processor..

Well think of it this way; the i7's main advantage is their performance in multithreaded applications. That's in large part due to HyperThreading.
Hyperthreading, of course, doesn't work as well as actually having 8 cores. However, it's still better than 4 cores 4 threads, when more than 4 threads are being used.

The 6-core CPU's should at least close the gap in large part when comparing in multithreaded apps.


Anyway, I'd say it's never "too late" to increase performance. An increase is an increase, and that's always welcome.

After these chips release, they just need to focus on getting 32nm manufacturing, as well as their Bulldozer architecture - and Fuzion, which could very well be part of the plan for Bulldozer (from what I hear, Bulldozer is supposed to be very modular)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: AMD Preparing ''Thuban'' Desktop Six-Core Processor..

I have no doubt Thuban will close the gap with i7 and could very well beat it. The problem is i7 won't be top of the line in Q3 2010, Core i9 which has 6 cores, hyperthreading, and is 32nm will be released in either Q1 or Q2 of 2010.

Bulldozer is certainly interesting since very few specifics seem to be available for it. Is there any indication if it will launch at 32nm or is it to early to tell?
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: AMD Preparing ''Thuban'' Desktop Six-Core Processor..

The 9MB cache should make a big difference as well.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Preparing ''Thuban'' Desktop Six-Core Processor..

Well really it's the same amount of cache as Deneb gets per core. 6MB L3 (shared) + 512KB L2 (per core).
Basically it's Istanbul on the desktop.

If these are priced competitively (and they probably will be), it'll be a nice upgrade for power users, especially since it fits in existing motherboards.


Anyway, AMD seem to be kind of tight-lipped about Bulldozer. There's a good chance it could be something big.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP! river686 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 07-23-2009 11:47 PM
Advice needed on what motherboard to get for a new PC with a core 2 quad processor Santuzzo New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-28-2009 08:24 PM
Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help KayoticOrigin New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-08-2007 11:16 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 12:41 PM
My C2D processor only showing one Core!! Please Help!! Nour Ershaid Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 05-08-2007 12:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.