32nm CPU's now in stock - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > New Technology and Products
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2010, 04:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: 32nm CPU's now in stock

How much of a performance boost does HT offer? And what is the benefit of having 8 threads with only 4 cores as opposed to 4 threads with 4 cores?

I believe that the new i5's/i3's have a video chip or something built onto the chip too.
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 04:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: 32nm CPU's now in stock

I was convinced that the i3 didn't have HT. So what's the main difference, Turbo?
__________________

__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 05:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: 32nm CPU's now in stock

clarkdale i5s and i3s have ht and yes they also have an integrated gpu on on the cpu, but the igp can only be used with mobos that have 1 of intel's new chipsets; h55, h57 and q57

more info here if you want
Core i5 650 - 660 and 661 processor review
AnandTech: The Clarkdale Review: Intel's Core i5 661, i3 540 & i3 530
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 07:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: 32nm CPU's now in stock

Jesus these naming schemes are way to confusing. Engineers should not be given the task of coming up with this ****.

It Should be like this:

i9 High End Hex (6) Core
i7 High End Quad
i5 Average Quad
i3 Dual Core

Then the number indicates the series, so 5xx is 45nm, 6xx is 32nm, 7xx is 28nm.

Then the next numbers indicate speed/exact model:

Eg

i5 520 (2.1ghz)
i5 530 (2.4ghz)
i5 540 (2.6ghz)

i7 650 (2.6ghz)
i7 660 (2.9ghz)

If they did that it would be heaven.

PLUS: They have really messed things up by making the new 6 core cpu's in the i7 range. WTF?
zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 11:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: 32nm CPU's now in stock

lol, wheres the fun if they didnt make everything confusing?

from what ive heard the hex cores are going to replace the i7 extremes
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 01:32 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: 32nm CPU's now in stock

Wait, wut? I thought i5's were quads. Muffin, you are saying they are dual-cores?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 03:18 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: 32nm CPU's now in stock

there are dual and quad core i5's now
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 05:52 AM   #18 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: 32nm CPU's now in stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burninator View Post
there are dual and quad core i5's now
Thats silly imo. Its like saying: Core 2 Duo - Quad Edition (wtf??).
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Gulftown" is the Flagship of 32nm "Westmere" Line maroon1 New Technology and Products 52 02-19-2009 07:53 AM
Intel scraps Havendale 45nm for Clarksdale 32nm chip thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 1 02-09-2009 05:05 PM
what to do in this situation. Poizen22 New Systems | Building and Buying 36 11-21-2007 08:07 PM
Stock x1950pro HSF or Stock x1900xt HSF? ulater6000 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-24-2007 11:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.