Hardware Quiz #7: Ohmmeter Function - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Quiz
View Poll Results: Network Plus Quiz #14
802.11 4 28.57%
802.2 2 14.29%
802.6 5 35.71%
802.3 2 14.29%
802.1 1 7.14%
Voters: 14. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2004, 03:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
mikesgroovin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Core Hardware Quiz #7

When using the ohmmeter function of a DMM to perform tests, you must always ______.

Answer: D - open the circuit that contains the device being tested

Explanation: To be perfectly honest, I want to get a good meter question in so I took this one directly from a solid source and a good quiz site. I received a PM saying that there could be 2 possible answers but I don't think that is accurate given the following explanation stright from the source. But, please, let me know if this is inaccurate.

"The ohmmeter function uses an internal battery to control the environment being checked. Therefore, it is very important that power in the circuit being tested be removed. In addition, at least one end of the component being tested must be disconnected from the system. This prevents any of the control current from the battery from being directed away through other circuits to which the device may be connected, which would cause the reading taken to be inaccurate."

Please DO NOT post the answer in this thread as other users may wish to have the same opportunity to answer the question. The poll will be closed in 2 days and the answer may be discussed after the poll has been closed.

Any post containing any answer (correct or incorrect) or a hint toward the answer will be removed.



mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 02:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
mikesgroovin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715

Love the results so far...hehehe

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 03:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

I know this from Skool
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 03:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558

mikegroovin, the explanation is right. Had a friend in high school, we didn't know what the ohmmeter did, and he took and plugged it into a live outlet. Meter started smoking!

Talked to a former electrician here at work, and he said that in series could also be the answer.
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 12:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79

When using the ohmmeter function of a DMM to perform tests, you must always
You said Ohmmeter function. The Ohmmeter function is used to measure resistance. i.e. the value of a resistor when you are talking about components in a circuit.

To measure the value of a resistor, you MUST connect the voltmeter leads across the resistor, which means that the Ohmmeter is in parallel with the resistor. You don't measure resistance with the meter in series with the resistor...you can't.

Obviously, as you have quoted, at least one end of the resistor must be removed from the circuit. If you don't do that you could measure the combined resistance of another or several other components in the circuit. For example if you have another resistor in parallel with the resistor that you are measuring and they are both 10K resistors, the resistance you measure will be 5K (Ohms).

The above two reasons are why I said that there could be two correct answers to your quiz.

I chose the most obvious one "meter connected in parallel". If you don't connect the meter in parallel, you aren't going to measure the resistance of the component whether you take it out of the circuit or not.

Your electrician friend must have misunderstood the question that you put to him. There is no way you are going to measure resistance of a resistor with an Ohmmeter if you hook it up in series with the resistor. Any first year Electronics student will be able to tell you that.

Target is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.