Hardware Quiz #37: Hard Drive Casing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Quiz
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: One or Two Gigabytes?
One Gigabyte Dual Channell? 7 63.64%
Two Gigabytes Dual Channell? 4 36.36%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2004, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default Hardware Quiz #37: Hard Drive Casing

Underneath the circuit board on a Hard Drive there is a covered hole in the aluminum casing...what is its purpose?

Answer: A...air pressure equalization....Underneath the board are the connections for the motor that spins the platters, as well as a highly-filtered vent hole that lets internal and external air pressures equalize:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...hard-disk5.jpg
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

on my HD's its on the side
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

oh really, is it now?
jaksback is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

my drives are a little older though....u mean a small piece about 1inch right? u can push a hole in it with ur finger?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 03:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

ummmm, all i can say is it's located under the circuit board.....I can't be making it too easy on ya now, can I? :P
jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.