Core Hardware Quiz #1: PCMCIA Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Quiz
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: OS Technologies Quiz #9
NTLDR, NTDETECT.COM, BOOT.INI 3 23.08%
BOOT.INI, NTDETECT.COM, NTLDR 5 38.46%
NTDETECT.COM, NTLDR, BOOT.INI 3 23.08%
NTLDR, BOOT.INI, NTDETECT.COM 2 15.38%
Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2004, 12:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Core Hardware Quiz #1

Which function can be performed by a Type III PCMCIA card, but not by Type I or Type II cards?



Answer: A - Removable HDD functions
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 01:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

oh i'm so ashamed, i cheated. :sigh: i'll take ..., thats my final answer

*edit*
Removed Bruce's answer....

You cheated? C'mon man....you know this stuff!

Vote the answer in the poll as well
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 12:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

Bruce Cheated? I think a de-mod is in order :beard: lol. Mike can you put your next test on cpu architecture?
XT is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 175
Default

I vote B, what is the correct answer?
kopenhagen is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

So is 3 days too long to wait? Maybe 2 days instead? I wanna give everyone a chance to answer as well ya know?
Thoughts?

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 06:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

make it 2 thats a good time
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Done
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 51
Default

PCMCIA slot type 1 is 3.3mm thick and areprimarily used for adding Ram to a notebook
type 2 is 5.5mm thick and are often used as modem card, type 3 is 10.5mm thick,large enough to accommodate a portable disk drive
loner is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 11:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Good Explaination!
Maybe I'll post some explainations as well. If I really feel like it.....

LOL. Kidding of course!
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Type-I : To add RAM to a notebook .. boy I need one desparately. Any idea which PCMCIA card tags/variety I should buy? I have a extra notebook-compatible RAM chip but both the available slots are used up. Have this PCMCIA Type-II slot available in my notebook, though - so far not used.
__________________

bm140772 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.