"You buy all these expensive computer parts"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Antec-User

Papa Chester
Before anyone jumps me, I'll be 28 this month, I'm an Afghanistan Campaign Veteran and recently Separated from the Military after 6 years (Medical Discharge) and live 2100 miles from my parents and family -Local compared to where I USED to live.

I was on the phone with my ma today and she was giving me the whole 'schpeal of why I should save money.. She gave me that line "But you buy all these expensive computer parts!"

I told her, "Woah woah! Wait a minute! How much do computers cost if you buy them off the shelf or from a store??" (I don't know what retail computer sales are called) She likes to change the subject when she knows she's been proven wrong..

That was my whole argument.. I built my rig for around $800.. (Minus the liquid cooling, case and monitors.) Take THAT into account when someone argues with you.. You would prolly expect to pay $1200+ for THIS kind of performance if you were to buy from a store or an outlet! Maybe even $2000... Minus the customer support costs and repair over the next 5 years......

I'm talkin about:

Phenom II 940 (Or i7 940, whichever your poison)
140W CPU Support
DDR3 Sideport Memory MoBo
7 series chipsets (AMD 790 NB.. Sry intel guys.. not sure what your stuff is.)
8g of 1066 Ram
1000W PSU
4870 (Slightly OC'd) Quality Graphics
1 HDMI Connection or 2 DVI Connections

14 USB connections
2 eSATA Connections
6 or 8 SATA connections (On board)
500g Seagate Baracuda OS HDD
750G Seagate Storage HDD with cooled external case.

Really,...... Not much of an argument there is there........ This is WHY I build my computers.. That and I find it fascinating, and I am going to school for A+ Cert so I can make money doing this as a Hardware tech.

I assume that like me, your PC dabblings are a hobby.