What would you do if you had a 2nd job like me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayce

Fully Optimized
I have a factory job I've been at for 4 years. It was my out-of-HS job and turned into my college job. I graduated in May and I've been working in IT support at a school district ever since the very end of May. The trick is, I'm part time at my job. I get NEARLY 40 hours a week, mostly because I work over my "allowed limit" of 34 hours due to my workload (with permission from my boss).

I have no benefits and I pay 60 bucks a month out of pocket for health insurance. I've been asked if I want to be full time and I said most definitely I do. I've poked and prodded here and there and it sounds like the paperwork is getting lined up to get me in full time, BUT there's no guarantee on when, exactly. But with how far it's gotten, I'd be pretty shocked to see it get denied.

My 2nd job is at a factory. I'm supposed to work every other weekend from 7am to 4pm. I stand all day with a few short breaks. If I pull out my cell phone and shoot a text to somebody, I could get fired. If I sit down, I could get written up, which 3 of them equates to getting fired.

Due to the economy sucking, I haven't worked at my factory job since Thanksgiving. This weekend my lady friend was excited to do something, assuming I'd get off again. Now that the weekend is lined up, I called in to make sure I have off. Nope. I work both days.

Now, a lot of thoughts are going through my head. Do I quit? Do I hang onto it? It's hard because I get time and a half there on weekends, so I'm pulling like 19 bucks an hour. But often times when I'm working, sometimes I get stuck on jobs there that aren't worth 40 an hour. Other times 19 an hour seems half decent.

It's a very inconsistent, unreliable job. As I said, I haven't worked there since Thanksgiving. The work sucks, the people suck, but the pay is all right.